We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let the salmon leap”

The Salmon Leap Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Salmon Leap Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Let the salmon leap”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

hardly 'dire' as one reviewer puts it. OK, not mega up-to-date (no wifi or TV in rooms - but there is a common room) but personally, I can live with that for one night. Clean, well-maintained, spacious room, communal garden, great bar, excellent location, sufficient parking. We received a friendly welcome.

Room Tip: Number 11 has a grat balcony over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveBoyWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for overnight stay few year back the owner was nice when showed us to the room ,we had the room with the green light for emergency exit, the room needed updating the only thing we liked was the breakfast it was nice and you got plenty.

Room Tip: Don't pick the room with the green light inside the bedroom it will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Can't complain about the location, situated in a lovely village not far from whitby. However, the hotel itself is stuck in the 70's and is simply put, dire. Poor service, horrendous food and terrible rooms, definitely a no go for me in the future

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCooke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here some time ago now but found this place welcoming.
Ideal for rambling around the area.
Mr Adrian Me is the proprieter and happy to help.
We joined in the midweek quiz night, and for our £1 entry fee got treated to Mr Me's homemade chicken pie with chips. Even though queuing up for it in the kitchen reminded us of school dinners ! But this just added to the individuality of this hotel.
It is a dated building etc rooms are basic. But quite adequate if ya just need a bed to sleep in.
We found our breakfast nice with as much coffee and toast we wanted.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Its the perfect place to go if you want a nice quiet get away staff are friendly and so are the locals I also thought the breakfasts were nice also has a good beer garden and over looks a rail track that has an old steam train running along it. It has a bus stop just outside which takes just 3 minutes to get into whitby centre and the bus routr takes you through other parts of sleights and staff are helpfull on what time buses run and what times of the steam train

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannybeertickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Located in Sleights on the outskirts of Whitby, it is a mere £7 taxi ride from Whitby centre, or a couple of quid on the half hourly buses.

Arrived to a friendly welcome from the proprietor. Was allowed to check in straight away, despite being two hours early. Was given a late entry key and shown around the facilities, including how to get in after the main door is locked at 1am.

The room was newly refurbished to a high standard. The furniture was rather old fashioned but in good repair. The bed was comfortable and clean, if a little firm.

The en suite bathroom was very spacious, much bigger than in most hotels i've stayed in. Unusually there was a bath instead of a shower, although this can only be seen as a plus point as the water was piping hot no matter how full you filled the bath and didn't run out. A hot bath was very welcome after a day of walking through hilly Whitby. The bathroom and suite were immaculately clean. The bath did have a shower head if you really insist on showering.

Returned around 11.30pm to find the bar downstairs busy with a lounge singer on to entertain the locals. Bar service was efficient and friendly.

Breakfast was full English included in room cost. Was cooked perfectly and helpings were generous. Toast, cereals, orange juice, tea and coffee were all provided.

In all, cannot fault this hotel, at first glance apperaing a little quaint. The hotel was charming, clean and the service was welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This was the first time that we had revisited the hotel in Sleights.We both noticed how quiet the hotel was.Then we found that we were the only guests staying there in mid March.
The owner seemed surprised that we were tourists and asked us if we were there for the potash or just enquiring about it,.
We looked at each other and nodded our heads in a negative way.
We first stayed at the venue back in 2003 just before we got married and enjoyed that stay.
The hotel hadn't changed one jot in the time we had been away.It looked tired and need of a revamp.Still no tv in the en-suite bedroom 10 years on and absolutely no hot running water.
The breakfast was truly awful,the worst i have ever had to sample,fatty sausages,under cooked bacon again with too much fat and worst still was the yucky Black pudding.
It seemed everytime we went to the bar the owner was busy on the phone or sampling his own food.
I never at anytime felt relaxed as when we departed or arrived back at the hotel he seemed to appear from a corner asking how our day was.
He also insisted on us leaving our key at the hotel which seemed strange as we were the only paying guests staying there.
Later on in the week we both went in to the games area and were enjoying a nice drink when suddenly the owner decided to put the television on with a music channel destroying our peaceful chat.
I wasn't very pleased with his actions so i turned it down,he then enquired what had happened to the tv and promptly put it back on again.
As you can imagine we simply left our drinks and went out to a nearby pub (The Plough),a charming little pub at th4e end of the village.
My advice for anybody who is thinking of staying at "THE SALMON LEAP" is as follows -
1.Don't expect value for money it's a dear do at 75 pounds per room
2.The views aren't good though there is a smoking facility on the balcony outside room 12.
3.If you like a trip in to the past it's just the job,everything about the place reminded me of the 1970's.
4,There's a bingo crowd and domino group which use the hotel during weeday evenings and live entertaintment on a Saturday evening.
I think without these features the owner might as well pack in his business as it probably keeps his business ticking along.
A 3 star hotel experience it was not, unsure how it was rated this high.

Room Tip: Always review other traveller's experience but everyone sees things differently in the cold ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,997 reviews
2.6 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
2.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#20 of 20 in Whitby
240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 20 in Whitby
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salmon Leap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salmon Leap Hotel

Property: The Salmon Leap Hotel
Address: 6 Coach Road | Sleights, Whitby YO22 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing