We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern and friendly place to visit”

The Penny Hedge Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 225 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Gastropub
Description: Full Tables service, Bar Service and Hotel facilities, Fresh Rotisserie Chicken served daily. Outside patio area, family friendly with children's play area inside and outside. Large menu including offers including 2 meals for £10.00 When available.
Restaurant details
Description: Full Tables service, Bar Service and Hotel facilities, Fresh Rotisserie Chicken served daily. Outside patio area, family friendly with children's play area inside and outside. Large menu including offers including 2 meals for £10.00 When available.
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed recently at Robin Hoods Bay and decided to call in here for a different type of meal as noticed the Rotisserie signs. We noticed the signage for the restaurant off the main road located between Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay on the main road. Friendly staff and the meals came out really quickly and very reasonably priced. Lots of seating and we didn’t have to book which was nice with a modern design to the restaurant and bar areas. The main meals and desserts were lovely and very filling with large portions so definitely recommend you give it a try. Would be nice to have more sauce mixture on the hunters chicken probably to come presented in a jug for more bbq flavour as the chickens are so fresh the sauces get soaked up quickly so had to order an extra portion of the gravy sauce mixture for my chicken as well but just a suggestion. So give this place a go for something slightly different.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Sa6Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Always lovely food and a good selection of drinks with an outside play area for kids - not that big but something missing from the area.

Good deals on Thursday steak night and the onion rings are to die for ...

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Schumecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed in the accommodation o here for a long weekend whilst attending a family wedding. To say that the staff are a amazing is an understatement! Everyone we met from check in to check out was exceptional!! We also availed of the restaurant facility and that too was exceptional. Alot of our extended family joined us at various times for breakfast and dinner during our stay and each time they remarked how good it was and what great value. Penny Hedges us wonderful and we are all hoping to return soon.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Dagwood27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

I wanted to write a review to express how amazing one of the staff at Penny Hedge is. He must be a manager or a supervisor as he doesn’t wear the same uniform and is always there.

This man really has the best set of customer service skills I’ve ever known in any restaurant business.

He goes above and beyond and is so friendly.

He even remembers that we prefer the gluten free menu.

It takes someone special to remember what their customers like, treat everyone like they are someone special and just go above and beyond.

He makes the customers of Penny Hedge feel valued and they wouldn’t be the place they are without him!

Thank you

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank RivieraWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

This was our second stay in four weeks and once again everything was perfect. friendly and efficient staff. Room was spotless. breakfast and evening meal excellent. Would like to say a special thanks to Krysta. We will be back again soon.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Penny Hedge Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Penny Hedge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing