We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in Whitby ”

The Moon and Sixpence
Ranked #45 of 225 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Returned to the Moon and Sixpence after enjoying their wonderful food last year. Truly the best food in Whitby. If you visit and you must if you are in Whitby, try the beer battered prawns and add some loaded fries. Food heaven! And the staff are helpful, friendly. Not to be missed.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good food but a little pricey for what you actually received. Also disappointed by a coupe of points ‘what sauce do you want with the steaks’ implied they came with sauces to then find £5 added to the bill at the end! However the cocktails and beer went down too easily and we had a great time overall!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank philiphargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent an evening in the moon and sixpence the night before our 1st wedding anniversary.

It was raining heavy and we happened to stumble across the bar. We soon found ourselves ordering many cocktails and spent around 4 hours people watching and chatting at a table in the window.

Lovely atmosphere, brilliant drinks, very helpful staff.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank ymdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We come in here often when we visit Whitby! Not eaten here for a while, so thought nice to add another review! Food was delicious! Service great with a wow atmosphere just love the place and it deserves great feedback! Always a pleasure to visit thank you!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YorkshireTinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Moon and Sixpence for dinner on a Wednesday night. It’s a cosy venue on the waterfront.
The staff were welcoming and very attentive. The food was tasty and arrived promptly after our orders were taken.
Well worth it.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank tahneeb313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moon and Sixpence also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Moon and Sixpence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing