We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere”
Review of Duke of York

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duke of York
Ranked #80 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If its a local, original pub atmosphere you are looking for then look no further. Forget the country pubs managed to a series of boxes to tick, go to the Duke of York for a taste of real Yorkshire. Yes the pub is small - so what. Yes the food at not be the best in Whitby, but who cares, the food is more than value for money. Lobster for £12.95 need I say more, get over yourself and go and enjoy the pub for what it is.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190,778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Situated at the bottom of the 199 steps we came for a meal at the Duke of York and found that the service, the atmosphere and the food were all excellent. Even regular customers were telling others in the pub how good the food was and recommending their favourites. One favourite was the seafood ploughmans (See Photographs). Salmon, mackerel, prawns and crayfish with pickle salad and a rustic chunk of fresh bread all for £8.50! A whole lobster with trimmings at £10.95!!! The service was fast, friendly and consistently good even though the place was packed!! Well do and we will be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobPallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

My favourite pub in Whitby. Just love it. The views look right over the harbour. The crab sandwiches are wonderful and jam packed full of succulent crab meat. The pub has a great atmosphere and the staff are friendly. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiekenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We drove down to Whitby on Friday to stay here, as my wife had booked us in for the weekend. The owners insist on taking the first nights fee in advance but their card machine wasn't working when she called. She advised them that she was going on holiday and left her mobile and landline numbers with the person that she spoke to. The owners called twice in one afternoon - to the landline number which was unattended due to being on holiday, advising that we had until the end of the day to make payment or the room would be let out. We were unaware of any of the calls as we headed pretty much to Whitby from the airport. When we arrived, we were told in quite an off-hand way (no apology, sympathy or empathy) that the room was not available. While we understand that they need to make a living, we feel that we have been dealt with quite shoddily by the Duke of York, given that we had attempted to provide payment but it was their own technical failure and the absence of a facility to pay online which caused the non-payment in the first place.

In the past, we have enjoyed eating at the Duke of York but this episode has tainted our opinion of the place and we won't be returning.

As it happens, we found really nice, well-appointed, newly decorated lodgings at The Waterfront Boutique Guest House for £10 per night more. Brand new letting, ask at 'Shafiq' clothes shop over the other side of the harbour as they're not online yet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Rockliffe_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stopped off in Whitby for some food after surfing along the coast and stumbled in to The Duke of York, an old haunt as I know it has great views over the harbour. We ordered a couple of pints, which came quickly, but well pulled, with time to settle correctly. And followed this up with a couple of Chicken and Mushroom Pies. Food was spot on and served with a smile, just what you need after a couple of hours in the freezing North Sea... We will be back..!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reuben_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had a 2 night stay at the Duke of York. The room itself (room 1) was more than adequate. Clean and comfortable and at £60 a night excellent value for money. The best thing though was its location. Central to everything with beautiful harbour views. Would return in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trueblue69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Although it's a trek from the nearest car park with cases it's well worth it for the harbour view if you stay downstairs in room 1 or 2. The rooms are accessed from steps at the side of the pub and you have your own front door onto the harbour, a beautiful place to sit on a summer's evening and a fine view to wake up to in the morning. Great value too although you'll have to wait until someone else opens up for breakfast in the town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy&Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#54 of 152 in Whitby
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York

Address: 124 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Duke Of York Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing