We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah G
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in August 2013

We have stayed at Dairy Cottage twice with our little family. Lovely cottage in an amazing location. Great holiday to get away from it all yet have everything you need nearby. There was so much for the family to do in Scarborough and Whitby and lovely beaches a little north of Whitby. Yet you could have no car days with lots of great walks about including to the village of where Heartbeat was filmed. Superb lovely cottage to a very high standard. One of our favourite places and we would always stay here if we return to Yorkshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We have stayed at Hill Farm many many times and each time we are made to feel part of the family by the hosts Chris and Diane. Nothing is ever too much to ask. Cottage is a home from home . Step outside and you have the wonders of the moors, walk down the hill and you have the North York Moors railway, drop into the village and have a pint in the local! Heaven on Earth. Highly recommended for couples and families.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordons57
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have stayed at Hill Farm a few times, but not been able to leave a review until now.

Always a warm welcome. Very nice cottages with outside sitting area for each. Lovely views over the moors and just far enough off the beaten track to be cozy and private. Steam trains passing throughout the summer give this farm a special something as you can look over the access road wall and watch the locos go by.

We found the cottages to be clean and comfortable with good cooking facilities. TV with basic Sky is provided. The TV itself seemed very small at first glance after watching a bigger one at home, but we had not gone on holiday to watch telly.

The local pub is always worth a visit and we used Hill Farm as a base to visit many places. Not a massive faceless site, which is good. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Able to have private time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday Heaven at Hill Farm Holiday Cottages :)”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just returned from a weeks stay at Hill Farm. We stayed in Moor View and we will definitely be coming back. We couldn't fault our stay from the fantastic accommodation to the stunning views. To top it off the weather has been lovely. There's plenty of walks and places to eat. The Mallyan Spout is our favourite.

The location itself is perfect as it's less than 10 miles from Whitby yet the rural location is really quiet and peaceful. I would thoroughly recommend Hill Farm to anybody.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing