We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The langdale”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Langdale

Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area
Bedroom Ensuite Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
Dining area
Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Dining Area
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Kitchen area
TV & Satellite
Lounge Area
Bed
Kitchen Area
Hospitality Tray
View from The Langdale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen D
Middlewich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The langdale”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a lovley apartment and a really nice guy say was.everything we needed,fresh,light and spotlessly clean.central for everything.highly recommended and would definatly go again..the cake was lovley day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ubmartie
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“I only need one word- Ideal!”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ray is a lovely bloke. The apartments are really cosy and comfortable, it feels like being at home. Everything is very clean and modern. We came down with another couple who stayed in another of Ray's apartments (St Hilda's) which is in the same building, which is also a beautiful little place. All in all I couldn't recommend them more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds.
Liked least: I had a little trouble with the key to the front door, but that was probably my fault.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockler
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best self catering in Whitby”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about this place is perfect you just can't fault it,it's a home from home with so many special little extra touch's,and Ray the owner well he's a real gentleman and nothing's too much trouble for him,he really makes you feel welcome,the best self catering accommodation in Whitby for sure

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick c
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“AMAZING AS USUAL.”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our 3rd time staying in Rays lovely studios. Once in St Hildas & twice in the langdale. We had a 3 day midweek break for our anniversary & it was amazing. Everything you need is in the studios. Free parking cards for your stay. Lovely chats with Ray. Very reasonable priced.Good luck with your recently converted new studio. We will surely return & try the Langdale 2 next time on Rays reccomendation. Thanks again Ray. Nick & Denise ( Ilkeston).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxo1946
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Brilliant service from Ray who met us at a pre-arranged location, escorted us to the property,organised a parking spot for us, and even helped carry our luggage up to the apartment.
The apartment we were in is in a prime location with views of the sea ( 5 minutes walk to the cliff top) and across the harbour the Abbey, it is comfortable, nicely decorated and has all we needed for our stay, the welcome pack of milk, biscuits etc. and the Yorkshire Brack baked by Ray is mouthwateringly good.
All in all a brilliant experience and well done to Ray who really does go the extra mile to make sure everything is as perfect as possible.
We would recommend The Langdale to anyone who fancies a few days in Whitby and hopefully will be back next year for a break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane2312
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable apartment for two.”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Langdale has everything you could want for a break in whitby,with a great location, this was my 3rd visit with 3 more already booked cant wait to go back again.Ray and his wife are really nice people very helpful.would highly recommend this apartment.Thanks Ray.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andy B
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were looking for somewhere to stay in Whitby , A change from our normal place , we found this and st Hildas which is owned by the very frienly Ray who we found very charming and well mannered ,we stayed at st Hildas but booked this place for my daugher and granson who came for the 1 night , wow what a lovely place again with welcome cake to greet , Definatley coming back shortly ,also friends are booking in the near future Look forward to seein you again Ray

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of booking and welcome early Check in
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing