We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome little plates which will excite!”
Review of Skosh

Skosh
Ranked #3 of 1,020 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$78
Description: At Skosh, we serve our food in the form of snacks and small plates, this allows you to have as little or as much as you want, grazing as you go, or if you prefer, gradually served course by course to give you a complete dining experience.
Restaurant details
Description: At Skosh, we serve our food in the form of snacks and small plates, this allows you to have as little or as much as you want, grazing as you go, or if you prefer, gradually served course by course to give you a complete dining experience.
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We booked supper here on Saturday evening and were so excited in anticipation of this chef’s menu. Skosh had been recommended by a staff member when we had a special birthday meal in L’Enclume in June and since then we had noticed awards coming the way of the restaurant.

It is difficult to describe the menu and we went in blind chosing whatever we thought might be terrific. Although the order was for small plates to be followed by a bigger plate each, the dishes came at a pace in keeping with our enjoyment. Which was pleasing.
Our mains of cod and quail were just awesome.

The staff were kind and informed and the kitchen is open to the restaurant. There’s a few high chairs where you can see the kitchen preparing the food which might be interesting. The wine list was intriguing and we chose a Pecorino from Italy which was as described by the lovely girl who was looking after us. The vibe was nicely relaxed .

Altogether a culinary treat.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank miss-garnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

Lunch visit with daughter and husband. Daughter's first visit.
Tried a bit of everything really. All amazing. Who knew octopus could taste so good?
Total taste explosions. Ingredients we had never heard of, all amazing.
What ever you do, leave room for the puddings. Blew us away.
So glad I live in York and can visit now and again.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank smag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is all it is cracked up to be. You will be amazed. Although only a small menu, every dish is cooked to perfection. The tastes and delicate use of fusion herbs and spices do not abuse your taste buds, they manipulated them. This place is a must to go when in York. Food good, staff excellent, and not a major hit on the wallet.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank KnightyatNo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

We ate at Skosh on our last night in York and it was amazing. The food was so good, we particularly enjoyed the hens egg and sticky lamb pancakes.

The cocktails were also fab with the bourbon, brambles and rosemary being my favourite.

The staff were all lovely too. We will definitely be going back next time we are in York!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank littlepinkpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Visited the restaurant mid week, it was busy and provided a good atmosphere. From entering, the service is first class. The menu of small dishes gives good choice, the waiting staff were very helpful in providing information on the menu. We shared dishes, the flavours of every dish were extra-special. We also had a very good Riesling wine. overall the cost was just over £100 for 2 but a very enjoyable meal.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Follyriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skosh also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Skosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing