We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the rest, this is the best!”
Review of Skosh

Skosh
Ranked #4 of 1,027 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$78
Description: At Skosh, we serve our food in the form of snacks and small plates, this allows you to have as little or as much as you want, grazing as you go, or if you prefer, gradually served course by course to give you a complete dining experience.
Restaurant details
Description: At Skosh, we serve our food in the form of snacks and small plates, this allows you to have as little or as much as you want, grazing as you go, or if you prefer, gradually served course by course to give you a complete dining experience.
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We've been to many highly-rated restaurants that didn't meet expectations (no names, no pack drill), but this one blows them all away! Chef Neil Bentinck and his team have created a genuine gem with this little restaurant tucked away on Micklegate, York. It's small but not cramped, loud but not over-loud, very stylish, and the food is out of this world. For those not familiar with small-plate eating the idea is that you order lots of little dishes instead of one large meal. It's a great idea for couples who like to share, and the dishes come when they're cooked, which means they are always fresh and hot, and you have time to savour each dish before the next one comes. Over the course of two visits in three days (yes, it''s that good) we went pretty much through the card and everything we ate was simply delicious. Such imagination in the dishes, with a heavy Asian influence, yet somehow retaining a good bit of Yorkshire-ness. Don't bother looking anywhere else!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SteveB952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018

Visited here on a Friday night. They recommend 6-8 of the dishes between 2 people and they come out in intervals, ours were 3 at a time. They were all very interesting and flavourful, the cauliflower was especially nice. The only one we weren't particularly fond of was the pumpkin/black truffle mouse-type thing, though the kale on top was nice. A small cocktail menu but the 2 we tried were very nice. Again for dessert you have a couple of sharing plates, the cardamom shake + elderberry jam donut was especially nice, the donut tasted quite Christmassy! Naturally with this type of place it's quite pricey but would definitely recommend. The staff are all very helpful and give good advice on the way it all works and the dishes. They also have a separate vegan menu which was appreciated.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We had a great meal with friends here. We had visited about 6 months ago & had a decent meal but this time around they'd raised the bar significantly.
The room was full with a great buzz, and the servers had the perfect level of familiarity alongside professionalism.
The concept is small plates, so you need to order a few to share. It's not the cheapest but the skill levels justify the prices. All the dishes we tried were well balanced and cooking times were spot on. The lobster with melon was divine! I'd go as far to say the cooking here now is level with Cochon Aveugle & The Park.
We definitely won't leave it as long next time.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank yorkiebarkid2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We booked supper here on Saturday evening and were so excited in anticipation of this chef’s menu. Skosh had been recommended by a staff member when we had a special birthday meal in L’Enclume in June and since then we had noticed awards coming the way of the restaurant.

It is difficult to describe the menu and we went in blind chosing whatever we thought might be terrific. Although the order was for small plates to be followed by a bigger plate each, the dishes came at a pace in keeping with our enjoyment. Which was pleasing.
Our mains of cod and quail were just awesome.

The staff were kind and informed and the kitchen is open to the restaurant. There’s a few high chairs where you can see the kitchen preparing the food which might be interesting. The wine list was intriguing and we chose a Pecorino from Italy which was as described by the lovely girl who was looking after us. The vibe was nicely relaxed .

Altogether a culinary treat.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank miss-garnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Lunch visit with daughter and husband. Daughter's first visit.
Tried a bit of everything really. All amazing. Who knew octopus could taste so good?
Total taste explosions. Ingredients we had never heard of, all amazing.
What ever you do, leave room for the puddings. Blew us away.
So glad I live in York and can visit now and again.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank smag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skosh also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Skosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing