We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 34 Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #74 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We booked a two night stay 30.03.14 we arrived 11:30 (check in time) and stood ringing the bell for 10 minutes waiting for someone to answer, to get in to be told our room will not be ready for 30 minutes! After check in we found a very large comfortable nicely decorated, clean room. Breakfast times were a little disappointing only 8:15 - 09:00 (not good after a full day / night drinking, however it was a very nice breakfast. It is a good location and only 5 minutes to the town would I stay again? probably not.

Room Tip: Number 3 very nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    54
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
104
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

An ok stay for what you need...comfy, clean and quiet location ...not outstanding, serviceable! Does the job for a weekend or overnight. They were not in when we arrived so be sure to check ahead and phone to ask for directions from the station as there is a much quicker route advise by the landlady than the way Google takes you! Would be helpful to put this on the website .....bit of a walk to town, not as quick as some reviews (and the website) say. Not a problem (and I am a walker..) but is about 15-20 mins to the centre, not 5.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBR178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Visit was 4 days and the owners were so helpful. 1st visit to York and was so impressed by the cleanliness of bedroom n ensuite. Late train departure so left luggage for most of the day - no problem
Will be visiting again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BarandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I had a friendly welcome when I arrived at 1.30pm.The single room is very clean and comfortable and has everything I needed.Number 34 is a short walk from the station and the Minster and city walls.
I liked the idea of ordering breakfast which was very nice and kept me going all day.The young lady that served breakfast in the mornings was very pleasant .
Although the house was full it was very quiet and I slept well for my 3 night stay.
I would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a lovely stay in this very comfortable and cosy B&B last weekend. Number 34 is in a quiet street about 10 minutes walk from the city walls and York Minster. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We had a triple room, very well arranged for our family (mum dad and tall teenager) with a lovely clean bathroom. The breakfasts were very tasty and we really appreciated the comprehensive veggie options. Really couldn't fault it, thanks very much was a fantastic place for our visit to York.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barneysmum48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 night. Its a beautiful b&b. The owners are very welcoming and friendly, the rooms and bathroom are spotlessly clean. And the breakfast was delicious, I thought having a menu to select your breakfast for the morning is a fabulous idea. Thanks to number 34 b&b our stay in york was the best weekend ive ever had. Thank you for your friendliness and the warm welcome. We are returning in may this year, but dissapointed that number 34 is fully booked! Xx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This B&B is an easy walk from the train station via a foot path. It is on a long residential street in an area that is relatively quiet. It is also located within a short walk of the center of York.

Our room was neatly furnished with contemporary furniture. The room and bathroom were both of average size. The breakfast was the usual British B&B fare.

The owner and staff were pleasant. Generally, we had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruppbenn_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#31 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
0.3 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#16 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 34 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 34 Bed & Breakfast

Property: Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
Address: 34 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 34 Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 34 is a beautiful Victorian double-fronted house built in 1886, ideally situated in a quiet residential street, but only 5-10 minutes walk from York Minster and York city centre. All our rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished. Number 34 is a friendly, family run Bed & Breakfast & is the perfect choice for discovering the beautiful city of York. We are also situated within easy access to the outer ring road and the beautiful Yorkshire countryside and coastal resorts. Guests are provided with a front door key and are welcome to come and go as desired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Number 34 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 34 Bed And Breakfast
Number 34 Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing