We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base for city visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest Guest House
Ranked #136 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent base for city visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We were met with a very friendly welcome and this continued throughout the three days we were there.It's only around 5-10 mins walk from the city and we found the nearby car parking a great advantage.Room was of adequate size for 4 of us and clean, the only thing was that the sink was extremely small and the shower temperature fluctuated a bit!Other than that everything was great.The food was good and served with a smile, all in all a really nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84laurar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    33
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
48
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

One priority was parking which put us off several city hotels as there are few, if any, (in the budget range) offering this. Friendly, family run establishment. Clean room & very good breakfast 'made to order'. Easy access to the city, just 25 mins. brisk walk to the Minster via Rowntree Park. Bus 11 passes the door every 30 mins. to city centre (be warned - it can be unreliable at times)
Nearby 'Indian' restaurant Lal Quila (or similar name) is good. Convenience store 5 mins. walk.
If you want a quick 'getaway' in the morning, settle up the night before, or you could be well delayed!

Room Tip: 1st floor better as attic rooms have restricted headroom & are smallish. There are ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterlecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Very helpful on the telephone, and very helpful in person - the type of service you'd like to get everywhere. Good standard of cleanliness you'd expect. Just a stroll from the city centre (although I couldn't try the riverside walk as York was rather flooded this weekend!). Nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solstices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Booked last minute for two nights get-away trip to York. Was recommended by a friend who's family had stayed at Hillcrest.
The welcome was great, situated in a great spot, stones throw from the park and river walk to town or short walk to town along the road. No need to catch bus or take car into town.
Nice breakfast and clean and tidy room. Safe parking at back of the house.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nainllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blyth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed in York last week for 2 nights = we stayed at the lovely Hillcrest and could not have been happier with the location = backing onto Rowntree Park and a superb riverside walk - we were blessed with gorgeous weather as well!!

The hotel is immaculate and spotlessly clean - a warm friendly welcome and a breakfast to keep you going till teatime !!

Would definitley stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed overnight in a tiny double room, but for one night it was fine. Very warm welcome from Lena, she is bright and bubbly and very friendly. The one great blessing is the parking and short walk to the city. York is a nightmare to drive or park in, my advice ....Don't do it! So to lock up the car and walk along the river to browse York was delightful. Breakfast was great, even Porridge on offer, a treat. Recommended for a city based stay.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had a lovely 4 nights staying in one of the family rooms. The party comprised of me and my 3 daughters (aged 15, 13 and 10). Right from the beginning, when we booked our stay over the phone, we were made to feel welcome. On arrivial we were greeted warmly and shown to the room - a large, ground floor room with one double and two singles plus en suite and still plenty of room to accomodate all the bags of clothes shopping that we managed to accrue during our stay!
An easy 10 minute walk into York via the road or a more relaxing 25 minute walk via the river. Having parking on site was an added bonus. We had a lovely stay and would definitely book again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichMoch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#46 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#88 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Staymor in the City
0.0 mi away
Diamonds Guest House
Diamonds Guest House
#101 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#54 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Guest House

Property: Hillcrest Guest House
Address: 110 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillcrest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hillcrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing