We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week End Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest Guest House
Ranked #143 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 November 2012

just back from a weekend break with my sister and best friend we went to York for the Xmas fair at York race course and we stayed at the Hillcrest Guest House .Hosts were friendly and made the three of us very welcome .We were very . happy with our room and the breakfast .Would stay here again .A big thank you .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

We could not fault the friendliness and hospitality of the owners but were a little disappointed by the size of the room and bathroom bearing the price in mind. The B&B is a good fifteen minute walk into the centre of town (and we aren't slow walkers!) and the price did not seem to reflect this. Breakfast was good and as I say the owners were very friendly but we would have liked the room and bathroom to have been a little bigger. The room was however very clean and tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossiAndShellyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Had 3 nights in a family room (2 adults/2 children) Was easy walking distance to the city. Family Room very comfortable. Hosts were friendly & welcoming & breakfasts were lovely. Parking was very handy as well!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbthorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

My friends and I visited York to celebrate Emma's hen do and had a wonderful time. Ian the manager couldn't do enough for us. Fabulous breakfast, helpful and welcoming staff, clean rooms and value for money, what more can you ask for. Thank you so much, Sarah, Dawn, Emma, carol, Julia, Debbie and sue

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinnybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed 4 nights at Hillcrest in Oct 2012. Good breakfasts, nice hosts. But the twin room was exceedingly small. Our suitcases had to be stashed under a built-in shelf and we had to ask the host to remove the only chair in the room so that we could actually have access to our cases. Nothing in the room was more than 8 small steps away. If you are a large person you will not fit into the bathroom! The location is fairly good--about 10-15min. walk from the center of York. But there are lots of B&B's in York, so you might want to investigate others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poodleparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We were met with a very friendly welcome and this continued throughout the three days we were there.It's only around 5-10 mins walk from the city and we found the nearby car parking a great advantage.Room was of adequate size for 4 of us and clean, the only thing was that the sink was extremely small and the shower temperature fluctuated a bit!Other than that everything was great.The food was good and served with a smile, all in all a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84laurar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

One priority was parking which put us off several city hotels as there are few, if any, (in the budget range) offering this. Friendly, family run establishment. Clean room & very good breakfast 'made to order'. Easy access to the city, just 25 mins. brisk walk to the Minster via Rowntree Park. Bus 11 passes the door every 30 mins. to city centre (be warned - it can be unreliable at times)
Nearby 'Indian' restaurant Lal Quila (or similar name) is good. Convenience store 5 mins. walk.
If you want a quick 'getaway' in the morning, settle up the night before, or you could be well delayed!

Room Tip: 1st floor better as attic rooms have restricted headroom & are smallish. There are ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterlecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#53 of 194 in York
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#58 of 194 in York
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#50 of 194 in York
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Diamonds Guest House
Diamonds Guest House
#119 of 194 in York
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#18 of 194 in York
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Guest House

Address: 110 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillcrest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hillcrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing