We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillcrest Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Guest House
Ranked #136 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed overnight in May, the place wasn't busy but we were given a very small, cold room, nowhere to put our suitcases (we were on route to holiday abroad) the host was very pleasant on arrival but going down for breakfast 30 mins before time stated for breakfast to finish, she was quite rude, got the feeling she didn't want to cook for us hence the Full English was very basic. Photos are nothing like the place, the outside of house is very grim and garden very overgrown, where are the hanging baskets!! hallway very dark and breakfast room very dated. This is very overpriced, plenty more in York to consider. Wouldn't stay again, certainly didn't put us in a feel good mood to start our lovely holiday abroad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris187438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    33
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
48
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in May. ensuite was good and very clean. The host was lovely and gave us extra tea in the room as we had 2 pots of tea with our breakfast.
Breakfast was good very morning and she was always there with a smile.
Would stay again, only 10-15mins walk from town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here one night over Easter weekend, the room was simple and small but all we needed. It was easy to find street parking nearby and a pleasant walk into town along the river. Great breakfast and helpful host.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed on a cold weekend in March, but the welcome was definitely warm. A short walk to the centre, the house is clean, comfortable, and friendly. I would stay at Hillcrest again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BE665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed before Christmas. Friendly hosts and a good breakfast but the property was dull and dingy and the photos online were NOTHING like the room we had. It was VERY small and a bit depressing. Not what you want on a weekend away, even if you don't spend much time there. The hallways were also dark and dingy. I couldn't even say it was clean because the coaster beside my bed was dirty- obviously overlooked when the room was cleaned, which shows standards. Didn't have a feel good factor and I think it was a rip off for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeeky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

just back from a weekend break with my sister and best friend we went to York for the Xmas fair at York race course and we stayed at the Hillcrest Guest House .Hosts were friendly and made the three of us very welcome .We were very . happy with our room and the breakfast .Would stay here again .A big thank you .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

We could not fault the friendliness and hospitality of the owners but were a little disappointed by the size of the room and bathroom bearing the price in mind. The B&B is a good fifteen minute walk into the centre of town (and we aren't slow walkers!) and the price did not seem to reflect this. Breakfast was good and as I say the owners were very friendly but we would have liked the room and bathroom to have been a little bigger. The room was however very clean and tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossiAndShellyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Heidi's Bed & Breakfast
Heidi's Bed & Breakfast
#115 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#48 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#84 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Staymor in the City
0.0 mi away
Diamonds Guest House
Diamonds Guest House
#102 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#13 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Guest House

Property: Hillcrest Guest House
Address: 110 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillcrest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing