We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B just 10 min stroll to centre of York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest Guest House
Ranked #137 of 193 York B&B and Inns
1 review
“Fantastic B&B just 10 min stroll to centre of York”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We decided to have a weekend in York and found this fantastic B&B. it really is a home from home. Lena the owner gives a very warm welcome and dishes up a brilliant breakfast. We stayed in a family room which was lovely and had everything we needed. York centre is literally a 10 min stroll away. The B&B has its own private car park which is difficult to find in York. We had a trailer with us which is big but there was still plenty of room for not only our car but a few more. All in all this was a great weekend. Lena makes you feel part of the family and goes out of her way to ensure you have everything you need. Definitely highly recommended and we will choose this B&B on our next visit to York.
The Caddis family

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skattikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    33
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
48
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed for one night, great room, breakfast and the host was very friendly and helpful
Thank you so much!
Let us park for the day after we checked out.
Easy a beautiful walk to the city.
All round good experience

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenwootton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed overnight in May, the place wasn't busy but we were given a very small, cold room, nowhere to put our suitcases (we were on route to holiday abroad) the host was very pleasant on arrival but going down for breakfast 30 mins before time stated for breakfast to finish, she was quite rude, got the feeling she didn't want to cook for us hence the Full English was very basic. Photos are nothing like the place, the outside of house is very grim and garden very overgrown, where are the hanging baskets!! hallway very dark and breakfast room very dated. This is very overpriced, plenty more in York to consider. Wouldn't stay again, certainly didn't put us in a feel good mood to start our lovely holiday abroad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris187438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in May. ensuite was good and very clean. The host was lovely and gave us extra tea in the room as we had 2 pots of tea with our breakfast.
Breakfast was good very morning and she was always there with a smile.
Would stay again, only 10-15mins walk from town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here one night over Easter weekend, the room was simple and small but all we needed. It was easy to find street parking nearby and a pleasant walk into town along the river. Great breakfast and helpful host.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed on a cold weekend in March, but the welcome was definitely warm. A short walk to the centre, the house is clean, comfortable, and friendly. I would stay at Hillcrest again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BE665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed before Christmas. Friendly hosts and a good breakfast but the property was dull and dingy and the photos online were NOTHING like the room we had. It was VERY small and a bit depressing. Not what you want on a weekend away, even if you don't spend much time there. The hallways were also dark and dingy. I couldn't even say it was clean because the coaster beside my bed was dirty- obviously overlooked when the room was cleaned, which shows standards. Didn't have a feel good factor and I think it was a rip off for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeeky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#48 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#87 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Staymor in the City
0.0 mi away
Diamonds Guest House
Diamonds Guest House
#103 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#56 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Guest House

Property: Hillcrest Guest House
Address: 110 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillcrest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hillcrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing