We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Grey Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Grey Mare
Ranked #189 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Was not expecting amazing things when booking but this was the most dreadful hotel I have ever stayed in. 1st we weren't shown to our room just given keys and told to yell "Terry" if we needed anything, whole place smells of Indian curry and is shabby, not in the chic way! We dumped our bags and headed out for the day in York, which was brilliant, we returned late at night and had to go in the back way, not well lit. When getting ready to go to bed found that the cold water tap in the bathroom didn't work, toilet doesn't flush properly, shower is tiny. Room was at the front of the inn and the noise from traffic is awful, all night. You can hear everything that goes on in the place, when ever anyone moved it was terrible, we got about an hours sleep all night, didn't bother with the breakfast as we just wanted to leave. The bed was hard and lumpy and the sheets didn't fit the mattress.

Overall it was terrible and could not recommend it to anyone.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    61
    59
    44
    89
See reviews for
49
116
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co. durham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Extremely disappointed with the room. Very basic,tiny and rather mucky bathroom, filthy carpets and black dust on light switch's and window sills. I expected a cooked breakfast but came down to a self serve basic breakfast, cereal, toast, cold crumpets yogurt, sweaty cheese and cheap ham. Boiling water for tea,coffee was in a huge kettle that I had trouble lifting.
We paid £30 each and were squashed 4 in a room at £120.
If this was the 'Four in a bed' TV show I'd have only paid £10 each and that would be stretching it.
Seriously, Don't come here !!!

Room Tip: Read all reviews BEFORE you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherrytrifle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This was booked as somewhere to stay for my sisters hen party. There were 7 of us charged £30 each (£210 for the night) with 3 in one room and 4 in the other. One of our party in the very cramped '4 person' room ended up on a camp cot which sloped to a point that she was almost falling out, another had a very old 'day' bed where the mattress was clearly too small and the other two shared the double bed (this was a similar situation for the 3 person room). The mattresses were all worn and saggy so not very comfortable at all. The 'shower room' was tiny and dirty with hair in the plugs and limescale around the taps amongst other things (not even enough towels for us all), and the room wasn't much cleaner either!
We were informed on check in that breakfast was 07:30-09:30 so went down for about 08:45 only to learn that they didn't even offer a cooked breakfast! Just cereal, toast, yougart and fruit. For the price paid it was an absolute disgrace! I will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clacoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This place is a lovely little place. Ideal for a stay over. We have been here 3 or 4 times in the last few years just cheap and cheerful girly day and night away. U get a continental breakfast included and yeh its not the ritz but u wont get 5 star accomodation for a 30 room. The owners and locals are lovely and are always happy to help. We always return here and still intend to gor the coming years, as u get great service and cheapish drinks considering its york.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I used to work in motorway construction and our first job when starting a new contract was to find a place to stay. This would usually end up being a pub that did B&B and would be at the less salubrious end of the market. We weren't that fussy as long as it was cleanish and more importantly cheap. Some were surprisingly good value but most times you got what you paid for. The reason for this pre-amble is to show that I'm not averse to roughing it.
What makes The Old Grey Mare unique is that I have never paid for something and then refused to use it.
From the outside it doesn't look too bad, not great but hey what do you want for £60. When you enter the pub, little alarm bells start ringing in your head and by the time you've been taken via the restaurant, up the stairs and into your room those bells are the equivalent of Big Ben on royal wedding day!
We stood in the room and my wife commented that it wasn't very nice but it was only one night, but after checking the bed- grubby and with a manky mattress, the bathroom- grubby and mould around shower and the whole musty smell of the place we decided that one night would be too long.
Fortunately we were able to find somewhere else to stay so for our £60 we spent about 10 minutes in the room, didn't even bring our luggage in.
In our opinion £10 per night would be too much. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark2gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was the worst B&B we have ever stayed in. When we pulled up outside we knew immediately it was going to be bad. The room was absolutley filthy dirty, we could not unpack our clothes as the draws were filthy inside. The towels were discusting, as was the bed linen and pillows. As we walked into York we tried to book elsewhere but were unsuccessful, we therefore bought towels to put over the pillows, and to dry with. The bedside lamps lacked bulbs, and the toilet was leaking over the floor, and would not flush. There were thick cobwebs in the corners. The bar area was dirty and noisey. The jukebox was thumping away all night long. Breakfast was a joke; cheese; ham; crumpets and fruit scones. This was robbery, and the pub should not be allowed to run as a B&B. BE AWARE, DON'T DO IT!!!

Room Tip: Do not take any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We arrived a little early, sat and had a drink, lots of locals in the bar and they made us feel very welcome, great bunch :-) went up to see our room and it was lovely and clean. I personally had a great nights sleep, I didn't have any breakfast but my partner did, toast, coffee orange juice, fruit and cereals very adequate, handed the keys in the next morning to a lovely gentleman( think it was the landlord ), if we come to york again I wouldn't hesitate to book here again :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missp1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#45 of 46 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn York North Hotel
0.3 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#104 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fourposter Lodge
Fourposter Lodge
#92 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Grey Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Grey Mare

Property: Old Grey Mare
Address: Clifton Green, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Old Grey Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Grey Mare Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing