We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic b/b in gorgeous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Mary's Guest House
Ranked #49 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic b/b in gorgeous location”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Lovely guest house minutes from the centre. Barry the owner very friendly and the manager Caroline went out of her way to accommodate us. The staff are exceptionally welcoming and love a little chat at breakfast. Porridge with syrup was my favourite followed by the biggest full English even filled my husbands big stomache. Rooms comfy and everything where you would want it ie mirror by plugs etc free wi Fi in all the rooms and even guaranteed free parking.place immaculately clean definitely recommend anyone to stay here perfect thank you Barry Caroline and staff will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    51
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
135
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

This was our fourth visit to St Mary's Guest House in York, and we had another great time. Barry and Caroline made us feel right at home, including the banter over breakfast. Rooms are clean, breakfast is delightful with lots to eat, and the location is perfect. A short walk along the river (200m) will take you inside the walls of York, and the station is just across the foot bridge -- all very handy for touring on foot.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred_cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORKSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2011

A very warm welcome from Barry and caroline, feels like home. This is thr fourth time we have visited this little gem for a short winter break. The location is spot on, it is central for short walks into the city and along the river.
The breakfasts are fantatsic and set you up for the day, the rooms are recently refurbished and very comfortable with everything you need and spotlesly clean. This is a home from home and we will definately be back next year if not sooner.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEIFFFFLEY-CASUAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2011

greeted with the warmest welcome, had a choice of rooms to choose from... beds are very comfy & breakfast was very nice, room was spotless, they go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. will be returning again thanks for the best stay ever

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juju044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The location of this guest house in excellent, and with free parking, however their web page does give a more upmarket impression, so we were a little dissapointed with our room. It was reasonably clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were good, although not quite like the photos!! and the staff were very friendly. I would recommend for someone wanting a basic b&b.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emjay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

While the images on the website give an impression of clean lines and modern comfort .. the reality was a faded, jaded and somewhat grubby interior. My room was a standard double but the bed could only be accessed from one side, so while it was okay as a single, it really wasn't suitable as a double. Walls were covered in woodchip which had seen better days and far too many coats of paint. Rubber sealant in shower had black spots of mould growing in it. Black mould visible on bathroom wall by window, though an attempt had been made to paint it over. Plugboard behind dressing table for lamp, kettle and hair dryer was out of date as the ticket on it said it was due to be inspected for safety during October, the previous month. My room was above the kitchen/breakfast area and I was woken most mornings by the radio blaring down below. Breakfast was okay but nothing special and again was often a noisy affair with the radio blaring out from the kitchen. I have stayed in two and three star accomodation better than this and am amazed that this place actually carried a four star rating.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Really friendly welcome, location was spot on only a short walk via the riverbank or via St Marys Abbey Gardens into the city, The breakfasts, well what can i say, they were fantastic & always served in a friendly atmosphere. My wife & i never ate until much later in the day after the breakfast, Our room was in the loft which was a very nice laid out room. Also liked been able to park outside the door in a quiet street & leave it for our stay of 3 nights.
Many thanks to Barry & Caroline for a fantactic stay, we will be returning again in the near future. They couldnt do enough for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#69 of 192 in York
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 192 in York
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#13 of 192 in York
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#51 of 192 in York
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mary's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mary's Guest House

Property: St. Mary's Guest House
Address: 16/17 Longfield Terrace | Bootham, York YO30 7DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Mary's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St. Mary's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Mary`s Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing