We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Mary's Guest House
Ranked #51 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have been staying at St Mary's for some years now and it feels like visiting family. We can not thank everyone enough for the wonderful welcome and of course Barry's amazing breakfast! The rooms and dining area are spotlessly clean, large and tastefully decorated. The walk into the centre can be taken along the riverbank or through the Museum Gardens (recommended with a bag of nuts for the squirrels!) and takes only 5 to 10 minutes, but both walks are so beautiful. We highly recommend St Mary's and thanks again - can't wait to see you all in December.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burninvermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

We seem to be in the minority here. People talking about hugh rooms. Number 8 isn't. Not enough room to swing a cat and with faded decor straight out of the 1950s.Badly in need of redecoration. Apart from the bedroom perfectly satisfactory with a great breakfast. There is a credit card surcharge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bushblades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

had two nights in York on a last minute notice and managed to get into St Mary,s. what a little gem. Central ,quiet,clean and the warmest of welcomes.Could not have been looked after any better. Will always go back now i have found it.Thanks to all the staff for a great stay in York.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonno700Wisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed three nights while touring England.

Room 7 on the top floor would be ideal for a family with a child as there was a double bed in the room and a single bed in a smaller room. (My husband and I only do king beds, or two separate beds, which explained out choice.) The room was spacious enough with comfy beds, lots of drawers and closet for storage, etc.

The roomy bathroom has a large bathtub and shower combined. Nice large bottles of toiletries for sharing.

TV, coffeee/tea setup, hairdryer.

Excellent hosuekeeping. Helpful, friendly owner-hosts.

Full cooked breakfast with a locely sideboard of fruits and cereals, yogurt, etc. Breakfast is served 8-9 a.m. -- no dawdling!

Limited on-site parking.

This townhouse is on a nice quiet sidestreet a sort walk from the historic center of town. Easy walk to the train station.

Many nearby options for dinner, touring, etc. Definitely take the free walking tours sponsored by the York tourism bureau. Lots of travel brochures in the lobby, and the hosts are very helpful with advice.

No lift, which is okay but plan accordingly.

Very helpful, friendly, and professional owner-hosts.

'Definitely recommend this as a place to stay in York!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I can't fault this B&B! Its only a 10 minute walk to York centre so it's in a fab location. Barry was very welcoming and and nothing was too much trouble. The room was a good size, bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean. Breakfast was great. You have a option of cereals, fruit, yogurts and cooked breakfast. All was local produce and wasn't greasy at all. I without, without a second thought, recommend St.Mary's who anyone who is looking for a B&B in York!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tello84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I arrived, slightly early, to a very warm welcome and, after only a few minutes, my room was ready. Everything was as expected. There was plenty of space, and a fairly large ensuite with an excellent shower. The bed was extremely comfortable, and I slept very soundly. Breakfast was, without doubt, the best that I have had in a long time. The location is perfect, with almost all the main visitor attractions being within easy walking distance. Overall, I cannot fault this guest house, and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deauville-biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

A nice guesthouse! I had a very pleasant stay there for three nights. Everything fine, friendly people, great breakfast and the location is very calm but nevertheless near the center. A railway nearby doesn't annoy as there are noly a few trains running.
Roland Klinger, Germany

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#13 of 47 in York
1,598 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 195 in York
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#34 of 195 in York
956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.7 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 195 in York
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mary's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mary's Guest House

Address: 16/17 Longfield Terrace | Bootham, York YO30 7DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £89 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Mary's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your St. Mary's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Mary`s Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing