We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Mary's Guest House
Ranked #47 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent.....”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

What a wonderful place Caroline really made us feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door. Our room was immaculate and spacious if we needed anything Caroline was there to help. Breakfast was fantastic had the choice of a starter and full English. We was looked after throughout our stay will definitely go back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley8873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    51
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
135
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Perfect location, spotlessly clean, excellent value. Very friendly owner and staff and a great breakfast. 10 minute walk into town - would recommend via the fabulous museum gardens, grounds of the ruins of St Mary's Abbey.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Rare treat away on our own whilst our children stayed with family.
Large comfy room with all we needed and Barry arranged a taxi into York centre for us.
A little noise in night due to some overnight rail track repairs not far away, but didn't last long and didn't spoil our stay.
Breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice. Barry cooks the hot breakfast, does a great job and made time to come and chat with all the guests too.
Hope to return again, with or without our daughters should the opportunity arise!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had another lovely stay at St Mary's at the end of November. Once again the rooms were clean well stocked with all we needed and more than big enough for us for our stay. Breakfasts at St Mary's are so plentiful you choose what you want from the cereal table as your first course and then either Caroline or Judy will take your cooked breakfast order, Barry cooks your breakfast and what fantastic breakfasts they are. Along with all the toast you can eat and as much tea or coffee as you want. Barry Caroline and Judy more us feel so welcome without being intrusive they really know how to be the perfect hosts. St Mary's is in the perfect location the short walk into town can be made by either going through the museum gardens or walking down the river path it really is in the best location ; why stay on a busy road when you can stay here. Hopefully we will be going back in the spring. Thanks again for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mountainview_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here as part of a pre Christmas get together with friends and I can't recommend it highly enough. You receive a friendly welcome and get a dedicated parking space which is a great plus with the parking restrictions in York. It is only a 5 minute walk into the city centre but is lovely and quiet. Finally you will never go hungry with the quality of the breakfast you get to start the day.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank djbargh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here for our annual winter break, staff are very friendly, rooms are very clean. Lovely riverside walk into the centre. The only bug bear was no hooks on door in bathroom. All in all a good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here. This b&b is the friendliest place we have stayed in. Great service and fab breakfast and its a 5 min walk to the city centre. Rooms are comfortable and clean with a tv and tea making facilities.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#69 of 192 in York
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 192 in York
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#13 of 192 in York
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#51 of 192 in York
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mary's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mary's Guest House

Property: St. Mary's Guest House
Address: 16/17 Longfield Terrace | Bootham, York YO30 7DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Mary's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St. Mary's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Mary`s Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing