We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Crescent Guest House York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crescent Guest House
Ranked #103 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Crescent Guest House was in a very central location, the rooms were warm and the person who greeted us was friendly, and he kindly let us check in after 9pm. Breakfast was good, however the dining room was quite cramped. The top floor room we stayed in was slightly smaller than expected from the photos, however I didn't get a chance to see the other rooms. I thought the room was quite expensive, but was comparative with the cost of other accommodation in York.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Didn't spot this guest house first time as it is just one standard door between 2 shops, so enter @ immefiatly up to 1st floor. Thr lady that greeted me was helpful, polite and pleasant walking me up to the room.
I was in Room 10 - top floor! Small and under thr eaves but once I settled in it had everything; ensuite (compact but neat & useable), flatscreen tv with loads of channels, kettle & even a case stand! it's about 5 mins walk from Gilly Gate so easy to find food snd get into town.
I had an excellent night's sleep and breakfast was good!
For the price (in York) this was excellent. The staff great and everything clean! I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_A-Sandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The owner greeted us with a parking permit for the street at the side of the guest house, the room was ready at ten in the morning which meant we could leave our bags and head into York a ten minute walk to the walled city. The room was not large but comfy with an ensuite, clean and tea and coffee on a tray. After a good nights sleep we had an extensive breakfast. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front are noisy in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiJulie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Clean and comfortable B&B, in a perfect location for exploring York's historic centre. Friendly welcome, with recommendation for local restaurants and pubs. Believe there are parking permits available, but we left the car in town. Great value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serioussquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Great budget B&B!! Helpful and friendly staff, the place is clean & tidy, only 5 minutes walk to the town, good parking (permits issued for street parking), served a great breakfast and finally I would definately stay again!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PorkchopLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 47 in York
672 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#29 of 47 in York
1,734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#124 of 195 in York
136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#41 of 195 in York
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Guest House

Address: 77 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £48 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crescent Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Crescent Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crescent Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing