We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crescent Guest House
Ranked #103 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Booked a single room for one night for a very reasonable price. On arriving I was upgraded to a double room which was a pleasant surprise. The room was clean and tastefully decorated with a modern shower room. Linen and towels all outsourced ensuring white cleanliness. I slept well. Breakfast was served quickly and I found it to be of excellent quality especially considering the price I paid. I would stay here again.

On another note, I found the "beware of the ghost" review absolutely hilarious - what ridiculous comments made tv that reviewer.

Thanks for a great stay in York!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjybody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for The Crescent Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Visiting York for the NRM, this guest house was within easy reach and provided a comfy bed for the night. In the absence of evening meals, the very nearby Churchill Hotel's piano bar was a great place for dinner. The only downside was the very weak WiFi signal in the room, but I good get a connection in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Despite secondary double glazing, rooms overlooking the main road do suffer from some traffic noise.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phicox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Nicely decorated, cozy, quiet place.
Breaksfast options are enough and tasty.
The ownser are nice people and we were helped and advised in all we needed.

Rooms have not many space for big luggage, specially the 3 people room.
However, it is close to city center, just a nie short walt to the walls.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NVR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The location is very good, it is an easy walk into York. It is hard to find as it is just a doorway. The room was up a lot of flights of stairs and it was very small but clean. We had problems finding room to place our suitcases. It advertises free wi fi, which it is, but it was impossible to get it in our room. To access it you had to go to the dining room. The dining room, where you have breakfast is too small for the amount of guests. The kitchen staff were very friendly and obliging. The breakfast was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scuddsy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The location is very good as you can walk into York, but the room was very small and up several flights of steps. The kitchen staff were lovely but the dining room was too small for the number of guests.The legs were hanging off some of the chairs. The breakfasts were very good. There was lots of street noise in our room, and we had to sit in the dining room to pick up the wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel was difficult to find. It is just a doorway between two shops. The hotel is on a main road & we had noise from the traffic. The room was very small & difficult to manoeuvre around the furniture. The breakfast was tasty but the breakfast room was too small & cramped for the amount of guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed in this B @ B, for three nights, the location is very good, just far enough out of town to miss the hurly burly of the traffic at Bootham Bar, and the late night shrieking of "hen nights" of which there appears to be many.
Still though only a ten minute walk from Bootham Bar up to the The Crescent Guest House.

The entrance to the Guest House, is set between a Dry Cleaners and a small Londis grocery shop, and could quite easily be missed.
The room we had was a Double with a single, not actually what we had booked, which was a twin.
The room faced the main road, and had all the necessary equipment, TV, kettle, iron, radio, etc.
It was clean, and tidy, and the decoration was good.
It had a lovely bathroom with a gravity feed shower attachment, which was the biggest problem of all.
The shower, due to the exceedingly poor cold water pressure,struggled to keep a consistent temperature, and at time the water flow rate was practicually non existent.
For those of you that like to jump under a refreshing shower after a long day sight seeing, this is going to be a problem.
Whether this applies to the whole house, I cant say, but it probably does.
As the B@B was full we knew there was no point in asking to change rooms.
In general the House was a little "tired" and could do with freshening up, a big job, for such a big house.
The dining room, as mentioned in other reviews, is indeed very cramped, when full, to the point where if you "a two" for Breakfast you can actually get trapped in your seat by the diners at "a four" table.
The Breakfast it's self, offered a good choice, was well cooked, and hot, with good quality produce, served by a friendly lady.

This is the only B@B, I have ever stayed in where, apart from Breakfast we saw no one connected with the B@B at all.
It would seem that the owners of the B@B also run the shop that makes up the corner of the house, and therefore their time is spent mainly in there.
You can however ring the bell, at Reception if you require attention.

York it self, offers a huge selection of things to see and do, from Museums to small ancient Churches, to the huge Minster.
The streets are bustling, and there is no shortage of food outlets, and Bars of very description, there is also a "sightseeing bus" adult fare £12, which tours round, all the places it visits, are accessable on foot, York is not a large City, and so you may wish to bear that in mind before paying the Fare.
Something else to bear in mind is that the Bus offers a 24 hour ticket, but does not run after 5.30 p.m. and then re-starts at 9 a.m., I make that an 8 and a half hour ticket!
An all day Bus Ticket on the local Buses which run considerably later, is £3.60.

Other than that, as with other Cities in the UK, York has a problem with "rough sleepers" and they can be found in all parts of the City, no one seems to move them on or try to curb their activities, and as I found it very off putting, I would think that our foreign visitors of whom there were many did as well.

Room Tip: The House is a maze of landings and stairs, if you are not fully mobile, this definetly wont be the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexgran2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Crossways Guest House
Crossways Guest House
#95 of 194 in York
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sycamore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Georgian House
The Georgian House
#83 of 194 in York
417 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#50 of 194 in York
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 194 in York
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Guest House

Address: 77 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £53 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crescent Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Crescent Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crescent Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing