We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little slice of Yorkshire”
Review of Lamb & Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lamb & Lion Inn
Ranked #32 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a great experience at the Lamb and Lion Inn a couple of weeks ago, we stayed for one night, having an evening meal there and then breakfast- both were wonderful! Great evening menu, the food was just delicious! Service was very good, friendly and very helpful. We did feel slightly uncomfortable in the separate dining area where a few couples were quietly talking- it would be nice to see the place on a busy weekend night.

The room we had was charming and traditional with hints of quirky modern touches. No noise or disturbance whatsoever, we slept like babies- super comfy bed! Everything including the bathroom was clean and well presented.

Will definitely be back next time we're visiting York, thanks very much!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahbanana32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi thank you for your kind review. I have passed your comments onto all the team and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
There are newer reviews for Lamb & Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel room itself was quite nice. Although we did upgrade to a "superior" room I was not sure what we got extra. Maybe the view?? As we only stayed one night the room served its purpose. The only issue we had really was "the little things", but these become an annoyance when you look at how much the rooms cost. Going to reception is very confusing. There's one sign which points you to a small bar area which as you could imagine, was very busy on Good Friday and made booking in a pain. Due to the building being very old, The only issue we had really was the corridors are quite tight. This lead to meeting with staff and having to let them pass or them having to wait. The young lady waitress didn't smile or acknowledge us as guests and was let down with her attitude. The breakfast in the morning was lovely but we did have to ask for things that should have been in the table, butter for the toast, glasses for the juice etc.. Some tables were set up with everything but others like ours, half finished.
To sum up, I wouldn't stay again due to the price not matching expectations. The hotel is in a good location, but for me thats all!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dalefrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay here at the lamb and lion. Unfortunately we do not have an separate reception area and we do have to use the bar which i can understand can be frustrating on busy days. I have spoke to to the breakfast team to make sure that the service and standards are kept at the high standard I expect.

Kind regards

The Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed for one night, bed, breakfast and evening meal. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Evening meal had plenty of choice and was top class. The breakfast was delicious, especially the huge sausages. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 3 which is a very nice room but overlooks the beer garden. Needed to keep the curta...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your kind comments onto out breakfast chef. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

The Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Visited for dinner so can't comment on accommodations very pleasant good choice of beers, people having fun and comfortable setting. Food was perfect, great presentation and excellent quality. Tried to get in previous night but completely full. If one wants a little quieter setting in dining room reservation is a must but the pub area was just fine

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Lamb and lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just been for our second stay at The Lamb and Lion in room 3 on the dinner, bed and breakfast deal (Thurs 3 April). We had a fantastic time in this quirky, gorgeous place and the staff could not have been better. Beautiful food and wine at a great price and the room was comfy and clean with everything you could need. It is a cosy, warm, friendly place where you feel welcome and oh, not forgetting the amazing brekkie in the morning - why would you stay anywhere else, thanks for a fab stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davec2441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi thank you for visiting us again. I have passed your comments onto all my staff and we look forward to seeing you a 3rd time.

Kind Regards

Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

As Americans, this was our first experience staying at an Inn above a pub. As we were hefting our typical overpacked American luggage up the stairs to our rooms, it appeared to be a big mistake. The room was a bit tired and we wondered what we had gotten ourselves into. Here's what we had gotten ourselves into: perfect service, fabulous food, a fantastic place for drinks, ideal location, and one terrific weekend away. We stayed two nights, had dinner in the restaurant once, the included breakfast twice, and drinks nightly--all were flawless. We learned to love our room and get over the notion that everything has to be built in the last 5 years to be of top quality. 300 years is also quite alright (things functioned better than in our luxury hotel in London for half the price). Sightseeing was a breeze, right next to the Minster and 5 minutes walk to anywhere. If you go to York, you absolutely must try the Lamb & Lion.

Room Tip: We were in Room 3 on the second floor and our friends in Room 6 on the third floor. Both nice rooms...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greatdaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are all pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and the old nature of the building. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I visited the Lamb & Lion today for Sunday lunch with my family. The quality of the food was excellent and the service first class. I highly recommend here for a enjoyable relaxing meal. The Inn is at Boothem Bar ideal location for a break while visiting the attractions in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you so much for your quick and excellent review, I am glad you enjoyed our mothers day menu and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Lamb and LIon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Guy Fawkes Inn
Guy Fawkes Inn
#41 of 194 in York
1,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#49 of 194 in York
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 194 in York
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb & Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb & Lion Inn

Address: 2-4 High Petergate, York YO1 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £95 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lamb & Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjoining Bootham Bar, the Lamb & Lion Inn offers en-suite rooms with free WiFi, flat-screen TV’s and award-winning Two AA Rosette food. Each of the twelve rooms have been individually decorated, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Some of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn offers real ales from local breweries and serves modern British pub food. York Minster is just a 2-minute walk away and both the National Railway Museum and The Shambles are within a 10-minute walk too. Discounted parking is also available close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lamb & Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing