We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming stay”
Review of Lamb & Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lamb & Lion Inn
Ranked #35 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in the Attic Room. The last set of stairs were steep and narrow, but the exceedingly helpful staff lugged the bags up and down--poor folks. Great location near the Minster with pubs very near by for a variety of foods, and in a remarkable building. We had dinner in the dining room which was very good. The staff is excellent and very helpful. If you accept the building for what it is, this is a great place. The breakfast was good and large servings. The room was spotless and comfortable. Charming place to stay. The ale was remarkable.

Room Tip: Some of the stairs are challenging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for you kind review. I am pleased that you loved the charm of the lamb and lion.I have passed on your positive comments onto the team.

Thank you

The Lamb and LIon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    326
    119
    60
    20
See reviews for
86
594
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I were really looking forward to a two night break at the Lamb and Lion after looking at the photographs on the website it looked amazing so we treated ourselves to a Delux double, it cost in excess of £400 so thought it would be really good. How wrong could we be the room was very tired, the sash on the window was broken, and for some time by the look of it; the light in the bathroom over the sink could not be turned off and this disturbed our sleep; the tea facilities in the room were not replenished. On departure there was no itemized bill. I really feel that the AA 4 star rating should be reviewed as this was definietly not the case.

On the plus side the staff and food were very good.

Room Tip: Do not choose Room 11 this is also very noisey as looks out onto the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 818BillS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi thank you for you feedback. I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay hear with us. We take all feedback positive and negative to move the business forward. I have looked into your issues during your stay and spoke to the correct departments to make sure these do not happen again. The light in the bathroom has a switch in top corner which turns of the light. You should have been offered a vat receipt on checkout by my staff which i apoligize if this was not the case. We are currently in the process of starting to upgrade our rooms throughout the inn.

Kind regards

The Lamb and Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

quirky historical city centre hotel perfect for overnight stay. Good food both breakfast and evening meal , friendly, efficient and polite young staff, interesting rooms and good beer garden at rear. Literally touching distance of city walls and close to Minster and railway museum

Room Tip: upgraded to attic room - spacious nice room but steep stairs for less mobile
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi thank you for your kind review. The Lamb and Lion is a great location to explore the city aswell as relaxing in our beer garden. I am glad you enjoyed both and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

The Lamb and Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Rooms are clean and comfortable, no problems. Old building so narrow steep stairs may not suit the less able. We had an evening meal there which was spoilt by very greasy chips, otherwise fine.
Breakfast was great and so were staff.
No parking but you can drop luggage off, its about 10 mins to car park. This is clearly stated in their info. It was warm when we visited so windows were open, it does get noisy as the pubs and clubs close.
WiFi does not reach to all parts of the building
Overall this place does offer good value for money.

Room Tip: Try and get a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schuby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you taking time to write a review. We look into all feedback we receive to move the business forward. I have passed your comments about the chips onto the Head chef which will be rectified

Kind regards

The Lamb and Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

There is no lift, stairs are narrow. Exactly as you would expect. Parking is off site and dropping cases for check-in is a bit messy. We had room 2 (front of building). As others had said in reviews you can hear the street noise. But it is in a city and was not disruptive. The seeing is great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay hear again if I visit York again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your 5* review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the charm of the old style building and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards

The lamb and Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Location was great really central , staff were so friendly we arrived early and left our case and on our return had been put in our room for us . Our room was lovely and had everything we needed , the lamb and lion is such a lovely pub with a gorgeous beer garden the weather was lovely the only problem was you didn't want to leave it so you didn't see much of york. The next morning we had a gorgeous breakfast Left our case on checkout as we weren't leaving till the night and once again the friendly staff were advising us on the best places to go to eat and drink they couldn't do enough foe people would defiantly stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for the 5* review. I look forward to seeing you again in the very near future where it will be even harder to leave our award winning garden as we have just had a bar installed in the garden!

Kind regards

The Lamb and Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Friendly and efficient staff in spite of it being York Races and very busy. The bedroom was a little warm, but the bed was comfortable. Food was excellent , at both dinner and breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshirecat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your 5* review. I have passed your comments onto my team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

The Lamb and Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guy Fawkes Inn
Guy Fawkes Inn
#42 of 192 in York
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#48 of 192 in York
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb & Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb & Lion Inn

Property: Lamb & Lion Inn
Address: 2-4 High Petergate, York YO1 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lamb & Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjoining Bootham Bar, the Lamb & Lion Inn offers en-suite rooms with free WiFi, flat-screen TV’s and award-winning Two AA Rosette food. Each of the twelve rooms have been individually decorated, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Some of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn offers real ales from local breweries and serves modern British pub food. York Minster is just a 2-minute walk away and both the National Railway Museum and The Shambles are within a 10-minute walk too. Discounted parking is also available close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lamb & Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing