We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“scrummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of York Spice - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
York Spice
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
sheffield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“scrummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

called here on Saturday night after a day in york.the service was excellent,nothing too much trouble and we felt relaxed. the food was excellent .price wise-good value

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We went when we were stopping at the camp site 300 yards away. The food was great and they done some different dishes from the norm i recommend the haddock pakora.
It was my daughters first time at an indian eaterie and she really enjoyed it.
The staff were good although at times were a bit to attentive but there were only three tables occupied at the time which i found strange fro a Sunday night but we will return next time we are in York

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geordie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“plain and simple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

warm welcoming staff, although the decoration gives a cold impression. the atmosphere was not helped by only three tables being occupied. extensive menu of Indian food from various regions. A good place to go if you are hungry and want a reasonably priced Indian meal but not good for much more.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful food. Choose anything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Lots of visits to York Spice and the food is consistently excellent. You can tell the quality of cooking by the tarka dhal, simple stuff, perfectly done, to really complex dishes with lots of subtlety.
Friendly staff and bright surroundings.
A favourite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ej240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

House meal for 2 - £12.95 per person. 2 starters, 2 main courses, 2 rice, 1 side dish - aloo gosht and a nan bread. Food was excellent, service was first class and experience was thoroughly enjoyed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perthlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Spice also viewed

 
Sutton on the Forest, York
Long Marston, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing