We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“york caravan park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
York Caravan Park YCP
Ranked #10 of 56 Speciality Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

just retuned after a 7 night stay,a very pleasant site with a fantastic toilet block,only down side is a bit of traffic noise and not being able to use waste on the serviced pitch because drain was too far away...On some pitches like the one I was on you would require about 40feet of hose that you can,t buy on site neither can you buy gas on site,
watson beveridge

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank watbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewYCP, Owner at York Caravan Park YCP, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hello and thank you for reviewing our campsite. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, but just wanted to mention that the pitch you were on had a waste water drain mid way down the side of your pitch - approx 8 feet from the side of your caravan, and around 18 feet from the furthest point on your caravan.

We do have pitches where the waste hook-up is about 1 foot from the standard caravan grey water exit point. We hope to make all the pitches like this over winter.

There is a huge camping shop (Go Outdoors) located 5 minutes away from our site that sells grey water pipe amongst many other popular items.

Hope to see you again some time Mr Beveridge. Thanks for staying with us, and all the best!

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a four night stay at this site. The campsite is amazing. The pitches were huge which was great as my tent is huge! The tent looked dwarfed in the pitch as it was so big. My friends were staying in their caravan at the same time as us and the owner was more than happy to pitch us together. We arrived late but the late check in procedure worked like a dream. I nearly fainted with delight when I saw the toilet/shower block. They were amazing. The best I have seen in all the sites I have been to this year. The lake with the ducks and geese make it a very picturesque place to take photos. The convenience of the bus stop right outside the site was fab. We used it every day to explore the city of york. Would highly recommend this site to others. xx

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank nicandcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Well what can I say that is negative about this site. Absolutely nothing. It has to be the nicest site I have stayed on. Beautiful pitches with our own electricity and water supply. The shower rooms were amazing. Each room had a shower, toilet , sink, hairdryer and shaving point. All this is included in the price. If you want to leave the car alone for a while, a regular bus service into York runs every half an hour from right outside the camp site.
The ducks and Canada geese made our stay even more fun and there is a lovely lake on site if you fancy some fishing. Perfect in every way. Many thanks to friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrissy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in eat may. Arrived to a warm welcome and being shown to our pitch. When in York we usually stay in the centre in a hotel and so I was worried about being out of town. I needn't have been, there is a bus every half hour into the centre £4.20 for 2 singles to the stonebow and the streamline taxi service was less than £10 (before midnight) after a night out, the number is just inside the toilet block.you could walk from the site to the centre as it's only 2 miles although there isn't a path for a while and it seems quite a busy road so we gave that a miss! The toilet block was immaculate and the shower rooms a dream with lovely hot showers. We will definatly return in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We've just returned from a couple of nights at this site, and couldn't find fault. Well, apart from the weather. But you can hardly blame the site for that!

We were looking for something close to the centre of York (we've got a motorhome without a towed car), so proximity to the city was a must. Arriving on Spring Bank Holiday Monday, we found the bus timetables had been changed, but not published. Rather than waiting for a bus that could be up to an hour's wait, we walked into York. A couple of miles or so, pleasant and not at all taxing.

The following day we could enjoy the site's benefits; huge pitches (if you are a tourer there is bags of room for your car on the pitch) and plenty of room for a substantial awning. When arriving, we had a choice of pitches, and selected one by the lake (stocked with fish - some campers fishing there); very pretty.

The facilities were first class, ranking alongside the very best we had experienced in New Zealand (which I don't think can be bettered). The shower rooms are beautifully finished, clean, large and completely self-contained, with w.c., shower, basin and free hair dryer.

The helpfulness of the staff cannot be faulted, even to the extent of apologising for the failures of the bus company in providing new timetables (rectified the following morning, when the site manager gave us a copy of the new one).

Talking of buses, as others have mentioned, there is a very good service (every 20 minutes weekdays) running between the coast and Leeds. The stop for York is opposite the entrance, and a return ticket is £3.00. What more could one ask?

Overall, I cannot recommend this site highly enough; great staff, super facilities and setting, and great proximity to what most people will be interested in - the attractions of York.

In the words of Arnie "I'll be back"!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biggruffbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

just returned from our 2nd time staying on this peaceful site. The toilet and shower facilities are the best ever, clean, heated and immaculate!

There's a bus stop right outside the site meaning that its just a 15minute ride into York Centre.

The staff are very friendly and approachable. a Brilliant site, excellent sized pitch and peaceful. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a lovely weekend at this wonderful site. The showers and toilet facilities are the best we have seen, very clean and heated. The wash up facilities were also heated with washing machine and ironing board and iron if u needed them. The wardens on site were very friendly. There is a bus stop on road outsite site entrance with buses running into york, about ten minute ride. Taxis will pick up on site. Excellent sized pitch very peaceful. will return later in year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DianenMartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
5.9 mi away
Naburn Lock Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Home Farm
Home Farm
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
14 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Caravan Park YCP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Caravan Park YCP

Address: Stockton Lane, York YO32 9UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range: £18 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — York Caravan Park YCP 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YCP is a beautiful, adult only touring caravan & camping site located just 2 miles from York city centre, yet surrounded by countryside, making it the ideal choice for holiday makers who enjoy peace and quiet, without being miles from the attractions of York. It is a Quality in Tourism 5 star rated site. 55 Fully serviced pitches. Modern facilities including laundry, individual bathrooms, pot wash, Wi-Fi. A half-hourly bus service runs from the site entrance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing