We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a good English meal.”

Michael's Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 879 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a good English meal.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After a long day of sightseeing we were looking for a uncrowded place for dinner and in the Shambles we stumbled across Michael's. Their set menu price was very inviting and we were very glad we chose it. I had the Roast Lamb which was delicious. My friend chose the Roast Beef. Neither of us picked a bad choice. The meats were cooked to perfection with Yorkshire Pudding and freshly cooked vegetables. Altogether a very satisfying meal. Do not skip the desserts, the entrees were wonderful but the desserts were a highlight. We both had the sticky toffee pudding and licked the bowls clean. Even if you can not stop for dinner, the desserts are available most of the day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    188
    45
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meals, lovely staff”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Ate here a few times as a guest of Galtres Lodge, for breakfast and once for dinner. Each time I was served straight away with miminal wait by friendly staff. There are lots of choices at quite reasonable prices.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank adelgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

my wife and I had breakfast twice, and evening meals 3 times, food was excellent, piping hot, staff very friendly and efficient, what more can i say.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank salfordboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience, classic food, well cooked”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Nipped in here in the early evening after a lovely day out in York with my partner. A good choice of specials and what I would describe as classic dishes. I opted for a cod mornay with cray fish tails and prawns, whilst the other half plumped for my second choice of seabass with asparagus, both dishes being specials.

Food was well presented and was served with nicely cooked seasonal vegetables. From a personal point of view the menu maybe wasn't quite to my taste...I tend to like a little more spice, but then again I knew that when I went in and they delivered on that.

All in all a pleasant experience with friendly service

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acct33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We came across this restaurant whilst strolling through York, we ate the suet pudding and the salmon fishcakes, both from the specials board, the food was piping hot and plenty of it. The service was very good attentive but not fussy and the prices excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Brasserie also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Michael's Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing