We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mumbai Lounge

Mumbai Lounge
Ranked #57 of 858 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great night out”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We visiited last Saturday (23rd November) meeting friends from 'out of town'. The atmosphere was great, busy which is always a good sign, but not over noisy. The food is excellent, popadoms were really fresh and the pickly bits very tasty. We chose two chefs specials, the one that comes in the foil is lovely, can't remember what it is called. The other two choices were 'safe' ones but the best I have had in a long time. The chicken was cooked superbly.
Will definitely visit again, but take note from previous posts, you really have to book as this restaurant is mega popular and very deservingly so.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,340
    315
    149
    64
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service, and good Indian food”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The first thing of note was the service. The service staff were excellent - very polite and attentive. We ordered from the Chef's Recommendations and both dishes were delicious, not too oily or overspiced as is common with many Indian restaurants. The portions were very generous and for the price the quality was excellent. Would definitely come back when I'm next in York.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hvg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stag party, didn't kick us out...”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were loud, drunk and annoying and yet they cope with us well.

The food was very good and very good value, service was more than acceptable.

Would like to go back and eat there again, when I can enjoy the food and the atmosphere - lets hope they don't have a stag do in!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E1w00dB1ue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Tried to pre-book for 9pm but could only get a 9.30 time last Saturday. On arrival we could see why - the place was absolutely packed! Waited in the upstairs bar for 1/2 hour while having a drink and looking at the menu (which had a wide selection of new and unusual curries). The atmosphere in the restaurant was great and the service was brilliant. The food was amongst the best we've eaten!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friday night beer and curry ”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

This is my favourite curry house in York as not only is the foid fantastic atmosphere but service is excellent . Despite some challenges Friday night the staff were great at getting us served and like last time offered us a free drink in their bar area. Make sure you book to avoid disappointment!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mumbai Lounge also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mumbai Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing