We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mamma Mia

Mamma Mia
Ranked #68 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Homely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely food, served by friendly staff. I left it to the chef to surprise me and he/she didn't disappoint. Meatballs starter and 2 huge sea bass fillets that were beautifully cooked and succulent. The 4 meals we had were all spot on. Nobody in our party had a negative comment. Would have no issues re-booking or recommending

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    129
    36
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent - as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have frequented Mamma Mia's for approx 25 years now and have never been disappointed. The restaurant is owned and run by a dedicated Italian family who always ensure good service, wonderful food and a friendly welcome. Lots of choice, plus a specials board. Can get busy early doors as its' location is handy for theatre goers. Compared to other Italian restaurants in York this has to be the best!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Visited this restaurant many times after moving to York last year. The décor is lovely, especially in the back room, the staff are friendly and helpful and the value for money is great.
On all occasions when I have visited here the food has been served quickly and is always delicious.

I would definitely recommend to my friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madison44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Quality of food poor, steak had loads of fat on it and was cold. Pizza overly wet and under cooked.
Service awful
Wine cheap
I complained....and got stared at.
Won't be going again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had a great meal here, slightly late at night on a quiet weekday. There is a definite family feel to this, with a nice friendly atmosphere. Food was absolutely delicious and we struggled to finish the good sized plates.
Great choice of starters and mains. Downside, we were so full we couldn't find space for afters.
I would go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StevieBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamma Mia also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mamma Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing