We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mamma Mia

Mamma Mia
Ranked #73 of 860 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We visited this restaurant with friends and family on a private recommendation. I didn't expect to be impressed, as one Italian restaurant can be much like another.

However, Mamma Mia is better than the average Italian. The range of foods on offer is excellent, with what is clearly a focus on regional options. I don't much like pasta, and was very pleased to see that I had a wide range of 'non pasta' options. The service was attentive without being obtrusive, and the décor was just right -- neither too 'traditional italian' nor too modern.

A very pleasant evening at good prices. We will go there again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    130
    37
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We just happened to be walking by Mamma Mia and decided to give it a try. It was fairly late but they were still serving.

The waiter was attentive and helpful. I had a Capriciosa pizza and I can safely say it's the best pizza I've ever eaten! The pizza base was divine with a good crust and the toppings hot and plentiful.

The wine list was good with some good affordable bottles. I seem to remember the house wine was fine.

We sat in the front by the window and were the only ones there. The back room was much busier and buzzing and had a much better atmosphere. It was a little dull where we were but as I said it was quite late. I imagine it's much better when there's more people in there.

All in all very good indeed. Lovely, homecooked Italian food, great, friendly service. Just lacking a bit of atmosphere where were.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chickenjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real Italian food, beautifully prepared”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely Italian staff serving absolutely delicious food, a very good range of dishes.
It was nice to try something different, although I was almost tempted by some of the more traditional options which would undoubtedly have been just as good!
May eat here again in the next few days, before we return home to Hereford and would definitely come here again when re-visiting York.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DreamerHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“authentic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

great food very reasonable, very friendly & helpful staff couldn,t do enough for you truely italian takeaways also available

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful food great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We went here for a pre theatre meal on Saturday evening, the restaurant was a little quiet when we arrived but soon filled up, the menu and specials board had something for everyone and the food was excellent, the only downside was the gap between the tables, you were practically sitting with the people on the next table! However the ambience when the restaurant filled up was worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huskyjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamma Mia also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mamma Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing