We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strada - York

Strada - York
Ranked #190 of 850 Restaurants in York
Price range: US$19 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A moment's walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal, Strada York has become a popular place to dine with locals and visitors alike. The restaurant is located in a beautiful Grade I listed building and retains many of its original features. There is a rear courtyard garden with plenty of outside seating for al fresco dining. Strada York is a part of the well-known group of contemporary Italian restaurants located on the high street serving good quality, simple, freshly prepared dishes using the finest seasonal produce available. The menus offer hand stretched pizzas, fresh pastas and risotto, as well as grilled meat and fish dishes.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Faultless service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were 30 mins late for our table booking as our walking tour over ran. The staff were totally understanding and still had our table waiting for us. We were seated and left to decide on our food. A few minutes later a window table became available, the staff offered it to us as an alternative as we were seated next to a large party which they thought might have been a little noisy for us, we stayed put as we weren't bothered but were impressed that they had thought to offer us the move. Our starters, mains and puddings were all excellently cooked and arrived in good time. We encountered three different staff members during our visit who were all very friendly and had a great rapport with customers. This makes a huge change from a lot of the chain restaurants we visit where the staff look like they might crack if they were to smile!! If we lived in york, we would definitely be back!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    149
    76
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We started out evening in bella Italian down the road but it was so noisy in there that we left before ordering anything!! we walked up the street and saw strada there was a few tables empty so we went in, I'm so glad we did.
The service was fast and the waitress was very polite. We asked for the focaccia and some olives to start which was very nice, I had gnocchi and a house salad which was excellent and my husband had linguini with mussels calamari and prawns, he said it was the best he ever had, which is high praise as he's a real foody. We don't usually have desert but hubby liked the sound of the lemon cello trifle which was excellent and I asked the waitress to choose for me as I couldn't decide I had a frozen nougat mousse with an espresso shot to put over it and it was amazing.
From the reviews I have read I gather that this is a chain of restaurants from this experience I would have said it was an excellent independent place as It did not have a chain vibe about it at all. Really good meal. Thank you Strada. Xxx

Helpful?
Thank emma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely food - lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very busy italian restaurant in the centre of the beautiful city of York. The food was great. I'd never had Ravioli frittati (fried ravioli - starter) before and it was a very pleasant experience. The staff were very attentive and all in all, it was a perfect experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteLuton_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not As Good As The Menu Makes Out..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The service was very good but must say was a little disappointed withe the food. We went there because the kids recognised the brand and the menu looked very good. I'm glad they accepted the Gourmet Society Card as this saved 25% so it made it a bit better value. Won't be rushing back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very good Italian food , staff very attentive , great wee restaurant excellent food very tasty .like being in Italy attention to detail on every plate .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shepherrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strada - York also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Strada - York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing