We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great drinks and staff”
Review of Revolution

Revolution
Ranked #250 of 868 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great drinks and staff”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Was out with a group of friends for the day in York and ended up going for a few drinks on the riverfront at Rev's. The staff were very attentive, and we received table service even for just drinks, which was a nice touch. The waiter who served us, I think his name was Steven, was lovely and freely chatted to us throughout our visit, recommending cocktails and places to go next as we were not from the area. The cocktails took a little longer than expected but were well worth the wait, the pornstar martinis in particular were amazing and on the 2 for 1 happy hour offer, can't go wrong! Can't comment on food as we had already eaten which was a shame. Will definitely be returning!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    94
    59
    45
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cocktail making fantastic, food disappointing”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A group of us visited Revolution in York for a cocktail making experience followed by dinner, which was pre-ordered. The cocktail activity was great - Billy lead the session, a good mix of hands-on and demonstrations with some games thrown in and a LOT of cocktails to drink afterwards. Really good value for money and great fun. However, the food was really terrible - the staff hadn't lad enough places at the table so we were all squashed in, the starters were acceptable but the main courses were terrible. The only veggie option was macaroni and cheese which was tasteless, the chicken dish was greasy, over-fried chicken on a bed of gloopy white rice with chip-shop curry sauce and the desserts were awful - they had run out of what we had pre-ordered and the key lime pie was off, just terrible. So, go for the cocktails but avoid the food at all costs!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrochar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Noisy but nice”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Friendly staff - good security -good food - great cocktails - music just a little too loud for talking!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ELLEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
506 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Fabulous Night”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I loved this Revolution!!! We sat down and were served at the table which was a first and we were allowed a tab!
We didnt eat but we did watch various plates of food being brought out and it looked good quality and plentyful.
Service was quite slow at the bar later on but its expected - its a bar in town. Service was quick earlier on though and next time I am in York I will most definitly be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service if you sit outside during the day - no one notices you”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This is the 3rd time in a row I've sat outside to enjoy the sunshine in vodka revolution, service has been simply non-existant. No one cares about the cusomers who are sat outside. You literally have to go and get a menu yourself,
order yourself and when they forget to bring you any cutlery you have to go inside and ask for more. And when they are charging such a high price they should really care about their customers. Used to be my favourite place to go but will not be going there again. Lost a regular and loyal customer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivelina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Revolution also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Revolution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing