We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The monks never had it this good”
other travellers have booked this property
A quiet courtyard setting with seating area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A quiet courtyard setting with seating area
Gated entrance under grand Georgian houses on Monkgate.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
A quiet courtyard setting with seating area
Gated entrance under grand Georgian houses on Monkgate.
Bathroom with shower
The magnificent Minster is near Monks Retreat.
Viking Festival in February
Riverside at York
Guided Tours - this bus has a stop just outside the apartment
Walk pass the Minster after a lovely meal in one of York's many restaurants.
St Mary's Abbey - during the annual October Light Show
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GazzaJame...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The monks never had it this good”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Clean, comfortable and convenient... Monks Retreat ticked all the boxes for a great week's stay in York. Hosts Mary and Philip were on hand to meet us on arrival, help with unloading the car and make sure we were thoroughly familiarised with our accommodation. They were only too pleased to share their knowledge of - and enthusiasm for - the many attractions their city and county have to offer visitors. In addition, the flat was well stocked with local guide books etc to help visitors make the most of their stay. Although small, the flat is cleverly designed to provide more than enough space and amenities for a couple to enjoy a fully self-contained holiday in comfort. The small gated complex in which Monks Retreat is located proved very quiet throughout our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and convenience.
Liked least: Nothing worth mentioning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
496Meggie...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great apartment and location all city sights within walking distance.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Received a lovely welcome from the owners Mary & Philip who were on site on arrival at the electronic gates. They helped us unload the car then took us to where we could park the car which was just around the corner which was also gated. A real bonus as there were no extra charges for parking like at hotels in the city.
A peaceful little apartment considering how close you are to the city walls. It was really well equipped with those extra little touches like the cream tea and beers set out on the table. I really liked that there were lots hangers so was able to actually unpack the case. Mary & Philip had gone to a lot of trouble to think of everything you would need for a stay, even down to some carrier bags so you could go shopping for provisions at Sainsbury's that was just around the corner a 5 minute walk. There were some leaflets and books on things to do and see in the area. We only moved the car once to visit the impressive Castle Howard and grounds.
We really enjoyed our weeks stay and would recommend Monks Retreat to our family and friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
909JPP
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our own 5 star hotel”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Booked Monks Retreat for our Ruby Anniversary. This apartment was the best we have stayed at. We would have thought that we were the 1st. to stay here, so clean and well equipped. Location could not have been better. Thanks Mary and Philip for the welcome and the little thoughtful touches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: Everthing was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great apartment , Great location , Great Holiday.”
Reviewed 12 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely apartment in a fabulous location. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Mary who helped us unload the car, showed us around the apartment and gave us helpful information on what to do and see in and around York. She even provided us with a welcome pack including bread, scones, tea, coffee and wine. The service and the accommodation were perfect and there is nothing negative we would say about this property. We would highly recommend it to anyone.

Thanks to Mary and Philip for making our stay extra special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & parking space in secure car park.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marsena_1...
williamson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient and very comfortable”
Reviewed 6 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Mary and Philip were very helpful in all ways. The apartment is very conveniently located and very clean and comfortable with everything needed to keep house including milk and cookies and jam. Lots of brochures and phone numbers available. The supermarket is easy walking distance. I wish I could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenient location and first floor location
Liked least: Bedroom is quite small.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie211...
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury in York”
Reviewed 11 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights recently. It was fantastic! Little extras like bread, scones, wine plus an extra for our Anniversary, (thank you so much) made the stay extra special. It is in a great location. 5 mins into the centre and close to all facilities.
The secure parking is very handy and Philip and Mary were extremely helpful.
We have used many self catering houses/flats, etc over the years and it's the extra attention to detail that stands out, simple things like telling you not to clean up as you're on holiday!
We could not have had a better break so we are more than happy to recommend Monk's Retreat to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray002
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed 18 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

It is indeed simply the best as far as position is concerned being a 10 min stroll to the front of the minster and a 5 min walk to sainsbury's supermarket and with electronic gates to the cottage and parking for one car what more could you ask. Customer service is second to none and in todays world that is a big big plus..
The only negative point I found was no first aid kit which I think is a must in a kitchen so my reason for only giving 4 out of 5 but other than that the kitchen as everything you would need for your stay.
I myself prefer a walk in shower but the shower over the bath was quite good once you got use to it. So all in all would not hesitate to recommend this cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: electronic gates
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review. When I read it I couldn't believe that we had never thought to put in a First Aid Kit we have now remedied that and Monks Retreat now has a First Aid Kit.
Thank you again,
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$126
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing