We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at a Toby, Good Breakfasts”

Toby Carvery Hopgrove
Ranked #279 of 909 Restaurants in York
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Went to Toby Carvery with friends for Breakfast on Sunday and will be returning in the near future to try out the lunchtime menu. The restaurant was clean, there was a good selection of food available and the staff were polite and helpful, I enjoyed my breakfast no faults with any of the food although my friend thought the eggs were a little too greasy. Having the drinks and toast in a separate area to the main breakfast counter is a little strange though and making sure the hot water for the tea/coffees is actually hot would have also made the experience a little better, washing down a lovely breakfast with lukewarm tea just puts a downer on it, but no real issues nothing that would put me off going again and at a good affordable price too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 532 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We went a couple of weeks ago and food good but the service was poor but we went back today to give them a chance. They were running late so had to wait. One member of staff was shouting that she was going to walk out. Dirty knives. Baked beans from breakfast on table. Carver had to sharpen his knives. Go find some spoons. Forgot small plates before even got started fourty mins after going! Asked for spoon took forever then once finished asked for kid's ice cream had to ask four times. Good food shame about cleanliness and staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rms19833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I visited the carvery twice on my visit to York. I arrived at 18.45 on both ocassions and was greeted by friendly staff and showed to a table straight away. The choice was gammon, roast pork, beef and turkey. The food was fresh and the vegetables were excellent. The place has a high turnover of customers and I did notice that it gets very busy after 19.30 where you had to wait for a free table. Plenty of parking available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We visited the Hopgrove Toby Carvery twice on a recent visit to York. It was so good the first time we had to go back. There's a choice of 4 roasts, then help yourself to all you can eat potatoes and veg. I had the nicest roast turkey I've ever eaten and if like me you're put off carveries by experiences of soggy overcooked vegetables, don't we worried, the veg was lovely with loads of choice. The huge Yorkshire puddings were amazing. The staff are friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money too - Monday to Saturday the carvery is just £5.99 and on Sunday £8.99. I'm also assured by a family member that the all you can eat breakfast is excellent and great value - I will try that on the next visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tigger28England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Went to this carvery.two weeks ago gave it a glowing report.went again following week.around two o'clock.about a third filled.had to wait 5 minutes before we were approached.went to the carvery area.no one behind to serve carve.checked my watch again 5 minutes.still no one.asked two staff.eventualy carver appeared.bit of a disgruntled look.not at all like our last experience.looked like no one was in charge.must must get your act together.which is a great product.but not that feel good experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tce91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Hopgrove also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Hopgrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing