We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anymore for anymore???”

Toby Carvery Hopgrove
Ranked #302 of 916 Restaurants in York
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I've found great way to have a full english cooked breakfast for the price of a packet of bacon!

The Toby Carvery chain offer breakfasts for just £3.99. This includes all you can eat from a choice of sausages, eggs, bacon, hashbrown, tomatoes and baked beans. Throw in as much bread as you can eat (you can even have it toasted). Well you're not getting speciality sausages and I somehow doubt that the eggs have been laid by some chickens out at the back of the restaurant (not least because of the sheer number that they cook each day - I'd pity the chickens!!!). But if you are looking for that filling breakfast for one of those morning-after events then you probably can't go far wrong.

Oh! By the way, because this carvery has recently re-opened following a refit, and as a welcome back offer, you can get a voucher on-line for free tea or coffee (again as much as you can drink) with a saving of £2 per head. I think the offer runs through July (2014).

When you just want something filling, it's difficult to find anything for a similar price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AwdTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks for your lovely review of our breakfast meal - we're delighted you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 451 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Went for Sunday lunch, it is more expensive than in the week; don't know why! Nothing different. If you are hungry it is a good, filling meal, nothing really to get excited about. I always find their Yorkshire puds absolutely tasteless!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stuge_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We are very sorry that you left disappointed following your meal at Toby Carvery Hopgrove. . We have emailed you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best experience possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived at The Toby to be told it would be a 40 minute wait. We were given a 'bleeper' & got a drink from the bar. About 35 minutes later we were buzzed & were shown to our table. The buffet was amazing. We were given a choice of 4 meats & a yorkshire pudding. We could then help ourselves to about 6 different vegetables, roast & mashed potatoes. There was a small table with 4 different flavours of gravy & apple/cranberry sauce. For £5.99 a head it was great value for money & well worth a visit.

Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Support Team at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

What a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and we will be contacting you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The highlight of this place are the staff, all friendly and working very hard to satisfy customers, but completely overrun, over worked and unable to make this anything other than a fuel stop.
Management take note, increase staff numbers to allow them to do their jobs better and some customers will return, for others, like me it will remain a "feed and forget fuel stop". The food has nothing to recommend it, a plate of roasted meat and gravy with cheap veg, plenty of it of course, and cheap but, come on, you can do better than this Toby. My recommendation is to find somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WiltshireDruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your visit to Toby Carvery Hopgrove and we have sent you a personal reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we stopped for a breakfast on the way to york races, the breakfast we had was great, you often think that " all you can eat " also means " not so good " but in this case that`s far from true as everything was spot on, we will definitely go there again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davlorash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Support Team at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review, it is wonderful when we receive such great feedback and we have replied to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Hopgrove also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Hopgrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing