We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Ranked #8 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great guest house-slash-B&B. My fiancé and I were warmly welcomed by Nikki even before our arrival. Room was very comfortable, as was the bathroom (I need a good stand-alone shower cubicle, being 6'5" tall...!). Breakfast was brilliant, especially the special Yorkshire bacon. And to top it all off, Nikki volunteered to drive us in to town so that I could have a few ales without having to worry about driving back! All in all we wish we had booked an extra night's stay, rather than the less than impressive place we stayed at in Durham... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steeevo_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Bentham Lodge Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely B&B - 2 top floor loft rooms were perfect for our family of 4. Clean, comfy beds, excellent shower & lovely decor. Nikki was very welcoming - was happy for us to check in early, didn't mind when we rolled in v late and was happy to do us a later (delicious) breakfast so we could lay in a bit. Everything you need in a B&B and more - would definitely recommend / visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have been staying at this B&B on a regular basis and find it very clean and very well run. The owner is friendly and welcoming, the rooms are spacious, clean and very well decorated. The location is ideal and it is not far to walk into York, but also has bus stops nearby that offer regular services to many places. I will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SXA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A fabulous experience from the moment we arrived! Nikki was most welcoming and let us check in early as we had a wedding to get to. She then insisted on taking us to the wedding venue herself which was fantastic. We would highly recommend the Bentham Lodge. Thank you Nikki you are a star!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed in many guest houses in my time but this beats them all!Nikki is a fantastic host and so funny.Cannot do enough for you and cooked a fantastic breakfast.Rooms spot on and close to York.Would recommend the Fox and Barrell pub for a meal, good service and nice food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 698spiderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Excellent from the moment we arrived, Made to feel very welcome. Nikki is fab, could not do enough for us, Drove us into the town center and gave us some great ideas for restaurants. Breakfast was delicious. Truely was a wonderful place to stay for a quick get away we loved it and would definately stay there again on a future trip to York. Thanks so much Nikki we had a great time

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonsez16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

For our one-night family stay, the arrangement at Bentham Lodge Guest House was perfect. The friendly service from Nikki stood out from the moment of our arrival. The breakfast was exceptional. The two bedrooms were comfortable and ideally set out for our family group. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,412 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
359 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 194 in York
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentham Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentham Lodge Guest House

Address: 92 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York YO24 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £69 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bentham Lodge Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run guest house offering modern facilities and great breakfasts within easy walking distance of York Racecourse and York College. 30 Minute walk into the City of York. Regular buses. Free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bentham Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing