We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lunch”

Scotts Fish and Chips
Ranked #113 of 990 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Another lovely meal at Scotts, lots of decorating work going on but the food and service still excellent, the 2 of us had the steak pie and lasagne , no room for dessert this time, we will be back again another day for afternoon tea, well done to the staff, all very cheerfull and friendly,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank webbyeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Hello and thanks fo the great comments,
Both the steak pie and lasagne are home made in our kitchen, by Roxanna who takes great pride in her food.
She also makes most of the fantastic deserts you see on display, so afternoon tea is a great alternative if you're not feeling that hungry.
The decorating will be completed soon, 6th March and we hope you like the slightly different look about the place.
Hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 528 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2015

My Wife and I took my elderly Mother here for lunch last Saturday, we were served by Jake & Maisie who were both very helpful, friendly & attentive, the Fish & Chips were simply delicious, we would highly recommend this Restaurant to anyone in the area or indeed passing by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Glenn_Ali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Hello Glen,
Thank you for the review and delighted you all enjoyed your proper Yorkshire Fish n chips.
All cooked fresh to order and served up by friendly staff.
Well done Jake and Maisie.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

This is such a lovely restaurant. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was delicious not just fish and chips but a whole range of delicacies all delightfully cooked and served. Not cheap but definitely worth every penny.Would highly recommend.

1  Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Hi Wendy,
Thanks for the review and we're very happy you enjoyed your visit.
We do have many more dishes beyond fish n chips, with many of them being home made on site by Roxanna our Head Chef
We do regularly price check to ensure we offer value for money.
Thanks again
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

we visited last Sunday and really enjoyed the food which was really quickly served by a lovely little waitress called Maisie. She was most helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble to her. Many thanks for a lovely evening made better by the fayre and the extremely pleasant Maisie

2  Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Hi Nick and thanks for the comments,
Delighted you had such a good time with our fresh quality food, served with big friendly smiley service.
Maisie is doing a great job and we wish she could do more hours.
Spread the word and come back soon
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015

At first I was not too sure. I could see it from the road but found it difficult to actually get too. I guess it used to be a roadside diner but now it's a serious fish and chip shop. I have eaten at some serious restaurants including the one in Padstein and the battered haddock here is up there with the greats. Moist fish, golden crispy batter and "proper" chips, it doesn't get much better. Great attentive staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank richardthecrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
And WOW what great comments, " better than Steins" - what more can we say?
All fish is prime Icelandic, from sustainable fishing grounds and we buy large fish, then cut to size. This ensures a think meaty fillet of fish with big flakes as you cut into it.
Own batter recipe and all cooked fresh to order.
Fresh chips, from top quality growers and served with friendly smiles.
Access is a bit tricky due to the road junction, (out of our control) but if you've done it once, it becomes easier.
Thanks again.
Come back soon
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing