We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”

Scotts Fish and Chips
Ranked #99 of 965 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 21 March 2015

We were really looking forward to fish and chips but Thompsons was packed. Decided to give Scotts a try and are really pleased we did. Nicely redecorated restaurant and excellent fish and chips. Good service and will now use as our first choice stop off and recommend others to give them a try instead of the other usual places.

2  Thank Martyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2015

Hi Martyn,
Thanks for the review and delighted you found us.
As you mention we have just completed a refurbishment in both the restaurant and the takeaway.
We always aim to provide top quality, at value for money prices, served with great service.
Spread the word and come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 496 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2015

We couldn't be bothered to drive into York for dinner, so thought we would "make do" with the fish and chips next door to the Premier Inn.
It turned out to be a really nice restaurant, much nicer than the outside would suggest. We enjoyed our meal especially the homemade proper puddings.
Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were lovely and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frod2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Hello and thanks fro the review,
We agree, who needs York when we are there for you. We offer high quality, for value for money, served with friendly smiles. Certainly not a "make do" alternative, but the only alternative?
Hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015

thanks again for a lovely meal and a good dining experience. Tyler did us proud as usual serving us with a big smile and plenty of friendly chat. The manager also came across to say hello and we were introduced to the new supervisor. All in all a good experience thanks .Liz and Ken

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

Hi Lyn & Ken,
Thank for the review and delighted you came back again.
Could become a habit? We hope so.
Whilst on a busy tourist road, we do value our local and regular customers.
Mr Trip Advisor Tyler is doing a great job and his personal celebrity is growing!!!
Spread the word and come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Visited purely by chance on the way to York as didn't want to stop at "usual suspect" services at previous exit. Was worth the slightly round about trip across the motorway as it was on other side to which we were travelling. Had the steak pie which was excellent and the service was friendly and efficient. Would recommend to anyone and will use again next time I'm passing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Hello Stephen,
Thank you for the review.
You enjoyed the home made steak pie, a favourite of mine. Home made by Roxanna, our Head Chef. Chips and mushy peas, with a bit of ketchup finish it off nicely.
Access is easy from both sides of the carriageway, although highways signage could be better.
Now you know where we are, we hope to see you back the next time you are heading East.
Spread the word.
Thanks again
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Driven past this restaurant at the side of the A64 between York and Leeds many, many times and never been in. Nearly didn't bother - as you drive in past the motel and McDonalds I wondered if I was heading for "motorway service station food". Could not have been more wrong. The restaurant was being decorated and should look great when finished. The staff were very friendly and efficient. However the main point of the visit, the food was exceptional. A huge pot of tea. A generous portion of Haddock & Chips, peas, tartar sauce, bread and butter. The fish was as good as you will find anywhere. Total cost including tea £11 each. Left happy and very full. Will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Hi Stephen,
Hidden gem you say, well we hope we are becoming less of a Hidden gem.Please spread the word.
The location is excellent, but we do suffer from poor signage and the expectation of motorway services food!!!
The only way to overcome that is to serve great quality food, at value for money prices and smiley friendly staff. Gradually people will realise we are much more than a stop off, but a destination for lunch or dinner or afternoon tea, with all our home made desserts.
Open all day everyday.
Decorating should be finished by 6th march.
Come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing