We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Visitor”

Scotts Fish and Chips
Ranked #99 of 965 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 15 May 2015 via mobile

We visit Scott's regularly as we live nearby. All food is cooked fresh to order and Julie the waitress is really helpful & friendly. Well worth a visit.

Thank L7239IGlauras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
Delighted to hear you are a regular and hope you have one of our loyalty cards?
We cater for many different types of customers, but regulars and locals are very important to us.
With a wide menu and friendly service, What Cod be Batter!!
Well done to Julie.
Thanks again
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 476 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

Don't let fish and chips fool you, there is a lot more on offer!

The restaurant area is a lovely place to sit and eat with friendly staff and a good selection of food on the menu. There's activity packs to keep the little ones entertained and overall first class service

1  Thank PT905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
'Reely' great fish n chips, but so much more to 'sea'.
Check out the menu on our web site.
Home made dishes, gluten free, veggie options.
Eat in or takeaway.
Thanks again and come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Stopped off on way back from York Outlet. Clean, modern Fish & Chip shop, takeaway side and restaurant to other side.
Great service, fair priced with 'specials', Left full and very pleasantly suprised of the standards of a 'service area' restaurant. Well worth a visit!

1  Thank shortcake22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Hi and thanks for the review,
We do look like a service area, but we are so much more than that.
We have just completed a refurbishment internally with 100 seats in the restaurant and 25 seats in the takeaway.
As well as fish and chips, we offer a wide range of other main meals, including home made steak pies, lasagnes, desserts..etc. Full menu can be seen on our web site with something for everyone and all budgets.
Come back soon
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We eat here a fair amount for convenience but you always know what you're going to get. The staff are friendly and cheerful and prompt and the meals are hot with plenty of chips. This time we were staying in the travelodge across the A64 and it was easy to get over here. We had friends with us and they said it had been good.,

1  Thank happytravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Hello hayytravellady,
Thanks for the review and sounds like we made you even happier!
Quality, value and service are our core values and aims and we strive to achieve them.
Sread the word and come back soon.
Thanks again.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

Me and my husband decided to give Scott's a try after driving past on more than one occasion, that won't be the case in future!! The restaurant and staff were very friendly and polite, they made us feel very special? The restaurant is very clean and decorated to a very high standard, the food was really scrumptious, the fish and chips were delicious and cooked to perfection!! I can't fault this place, it will now become a regular pit stop to feed our hungry tummys! No more going to thompsons, our previous favourite!! Keep up the good work!!

2  Thank nickicurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
Couldn't put it any better!!!
"By far the best around" -- says it all.
Spread the word and Come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing