We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fish and Chips”

Scotts Fish and Chips
Ranked #113 of 990 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

This was our first visit to Scotts. The staff very polite and the Fish and Chips are excellent all fresh, would recommend.

Thank APAP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Hi and thanks for the review,
The whole team were delighted to read your comments.
We aim to deliver great quality, at value prices, alls erred with big smiley faces.
Thanks for the recommendation.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 494 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

Superb food great service my 23rd visit and in this temple to Fish n Chips it's rules with consistency

Thank Tom29bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Hi Tom,
Thanks for the great review,
23 times, hope you have one of our loyalty cards?
Once you achieve, great quality, and service, the next challenge is consistency day in day out. We strive to deliver that and delighted you have experienced that each time you come and see us.
Spread the word and come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Just had the best Fish and Chips I've ever tasted !! Just passing by and called in lovely atmosphere very busy and the service was fantastic !! A special mention to the waitress Abbie who couldn't of been any better very professional and efficient !! Keep up the good work !

1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Hi Nick and thanks for the 'amazing' review,
What can I say - excellent and well done Abbie that's what we aim to deliver.
Hope you call in again next time you are just passing.
Easy access from both sides of A64, plenty of parking, open 7 days.
Spread the word...
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015

fish really fresh and crispy. staff very friendly restaurant very clean and comfortable good value for money.

Thank jacqueline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Hi and thanks for the great comments,
The team were delighted to read your review and hope you call again next time you're in Yorkshire.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Went here for take away fish and chips on the way home work around 520pm - unbelievably, they didn't have any chips or fish ready! Meant we waited 15 minutes to receive our order. Portion sizes were a little on the small side but the food itself was reasonable. Staff seemed to be slow and didn't communicate well with each other, causing delays. Will probably avoid next time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dannywri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Hello and sorry you were disappointed,
This is not our normal standard, but we do cook fresh to order and this does mean a slightly longer wait than other establishments that pre-cook and have fish sitting in the hot box!!
Portion sizes are standard 7-8oz fish and 12 oz chips.
Hope you try you us again.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing