We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Scotts Fish and Chips
Ranked #113 of 990 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Welcomed with a warm smile by Ellie who looked after our table she was friendly and efficient. The food was served up quickly and was as of great quality in fact the cod was the best I have ever tasted.
Well done to all at Scotts.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Hi Andrew,
Thanks for the review.
I do think you have may have been in Helmsley, as Ellie is based there, but we have the same quality, value and great service in Helmsley and Bilbrough.
Delighted you enjoyed it.
Well done Ellie.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 471 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2015

Very welcoming, clean and nicely decorated Fish and Chips excellent a special thank you to Julie for giving us such good and friendly service Sue and Mike Drake

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Hi Sue and Mike,
Thanks for the comments and we are pleased to be partnered with Brit stops.
Large carpark and warm welcome to all tourers.
Wide menu, so something for all.
Well done Julie.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

this place is a little gem - we stopped for the McDonald's next door - it was so crowded with long lines we opted to walk next door to Scotts w/o any idea where we were headed - what a lucky break - had ice cream, coffee and sweets - clean, upbeat service and great food - were waited on by Chynna - lovely young lady with big smile who answered lots of questions about York and where we were headed -

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarasotabobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Sarasotabobby,
Long way from home? Hope you enjoyed York and hope to see you on the ay back?
We are in great location for a stop off, hot drinks, cold drinks, ice cream, rest rooms and of course you can have lunch or dinner if you're hungry.
Well done Chynna.
Thanks for the great comments.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015

A very clean restaurant fish and chips are just brilliant fresh fish cooked beautifully chips as well, staff are very warm and welcoming a very nice restaurant to eat you must try it a real gem of a restaurant loads of space to eat. Excellent
Will go again..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Hi and thanks for your excellent review,
We aim to serve high quality, at value prices and with big friendly smiles.
Sounds like that is exactly what you enjoyed.
Come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Firstly very impressed by the extremely courteous, friendly and efficient service from our waiter Tom. Very varied menu but our haddock and chips were 'spot on', fish soft, fresh and flaky and lightly battered. Chips dry and golden and nice and hot. Generous portions. Our first visit but we will try and make sure it's not our last!

Jena and Mort Shapero, Leeds

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mort S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Hello Mort,
Thanks for the review.
First visit, but hopefully not the last? You're not too far away - open everyday, all day.
Tom seems to be on a roll, 2 reviews in succession he gets a mention. Well done.
All orders are cooked to order, to ensure freshness and the highest quality.
many thanks
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing