We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely spot ”

Scotts Fish and Chips
Ranked #99 of 965 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Premiere Inn right next to Scott's Fish and Chips and decided to pop in for dinner after being at Flamingo Land for the day.

We went into the takeaway side first and were preparing to sit down at the metal tables when my daughter asked to use the loo. We went through some doors into a massive restaurant. What a surprise! I absolutely loved the decor! It was so fresh and sea themed but not at all cheesy. The colour scheme was lovely and really helped the relaxing atmosphere.

We got a table and ordered our meal and drinks, asked for crayons for the children and waited for our food to arrive.

I ordered scampi and chips, my husband had fish and chips and the children both had fish fingers. All of the food was freshly cooked, tasty and the plates looked good when they arrived.

The dinning area and toilets were immaculate.

We had a very nice family meal here and would recommend to locals and visitors alike. If we ever find ourselves in that neck of the wood again we'll be going back for sure.

Thank Kdlovescake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
What great comments, thank you. Epitomises all we are striving to achieve.
Warm welcome, family friendly, great food and service.
Happy smiley faces all round.
Hope you make it back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 414 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2015

I only live up the road from Scotts but hadn't been because it just looks like a motorway service station (which it is next to). However they advertise gluten free fish and chips which are still a bit of a rarity so we went on a whim last night. Not only did they have gluten free batter, but there was bread, vinegar and tartare sauce. I didn't enquire about curry sauce - will do so next time. When it came the portion was enormous, the batter light and crispy and the fish fresh and moist. I really enjoyed it. Somehow I managed to ram in pudding - what was clearly a home made pavlova (gluten free - the waiter advised without prompting of their selection). My other half had the chocolate fudge cake - he didn't need the gluten free aspect but apparently it was, good knowledge for next time as it looked amazing.

Service was good, it was quiet inside (wet Thursday night in early September, not surprising). We'll be going again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amyuk2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi Amy,
Delighted that you tried us, especially as you are local.
One of our challenges is to get over the external appearance and location.
As you now know, once inside, you could be anywhere.
The gluten free is increasingly popular and we have proper battered fish n chips available all day everyday at both restaurants and takeaways.
With some additional GF items.
Thanks again and see you soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Excellent Fish and Chip Restaurant with take away. Stopped off for dinner on way past after a long journey with a long way to go. Sat outside with take away, the restaurant was busy and as it was a warm evening so outside seemed better. Great value and quality, will stop if passing again.

Thank Ariespendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
Quality food every time, at value for money prices and all served with big friendly smiles. that's what Scotts is about.
Delighted you enjoyed it and call in next time you're passing.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Stopped off on the way back home and was surprised at the great fish and chips etc. Also Eat in or out. The portion of fish bites and chips was enormous! I had thought fish bites would be a lighter option than a portion of fish and chips.. I was wrong ! Next time I will go for a childs portion. The service was great too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi Sue,
Thanks for the review and not sure why you were surprised?
We have the National QAward in Helmsley and hoping to get it in Bilbro, but we do serve the same high quality. All fish is guaranteed sustainable, now we have the MCS accreditation.
Add to this a dedicated team of staff and you have "excellent fish and chips" .
Spread the word and see you soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Visited here while on a trip to York. Food was delicious can you please open a shop in Stoke on Trent not one decent chippy near me

Thank Prez_nick5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hello and thanks ro the review,
"Delicious" - what more can I say, other than we would love to come to Stoke, but it is just a bit too far for us!!!
Come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;