We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding day made more special by Scotts attention to detail.”

Scotts Fish and Chips
Ranked #99 of 965 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We had our wedding breakfast at Scotts. The staff were excellent, attending to our guests every need.
The food was brilliant and the tables were dressed with tablecloths, flowers etc.
There attention to detail made our wedding day so special.
Thank you guys

1  Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Hi Vicky,
Thanks for the review and delighted we helped in a small way to your big day.
Customers are our number one priority and we try very hard to deliver the highest service every time.
Thanks again
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 411 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2015

We have visited here before and it didn't disappoint, although we would not have gone but for the 'buy one get one free' as I think the prices are a little high.
We were served by Lauren on Saturday tea time and she was absolutely great, what attentiveness! She was also extremely pleasant and obliging. The Chef, Roxy was very good also in that she came and asked if our meals were satisfactory; just a little touch to make us feel a bit more than just a customer. Many thanks

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi Sylvia,
Thanks for the review and delighted you enjoyed your visit.
We do continually assess pricing and aim to be middle of the road.
We do have options at different price points and fish weights, some specials, golden years...etc and aim to have something for all appetites and budgets.
And of course a takeaway at lower prices.
You may have seen in the press that Roxy recently made the semi final, Top 10, in the National Young Frier competition.
Well done Lauren and Roxy.
Hope you come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Our waitress Lauren served our meals with confidence and a smile.The food was excellent and was served piping hot.We would certainly eat at Scotts again, Thanks Lauren. M&J of Sheffield.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi M & J,
Thanks for the review and great comments.
All food cooked fish to order and served with big smiles.
Well done Lauren.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Premiere Inn right next to Scott's Fish and Chips and decided to pop in for dinner after being at Flamingo Land for the day.

We went into the takeaway side first and were preparing to sit down at the metal tables when my daughter asked to use the loo. We went through some doors into a massive restaurant. What a surprise! I absolutely loved the decor! It was so fresh and sea themed but not at all cheesy. The colour scheme was lovely and really helped the relaxing atmosphere.

We got a table and ordered our meal and drinks, asked for crayons for the children and waited for our food to arrive.

I ordered scampi and chips, my husband had fish and chips and the children both had fish fingers. All of the food was freshly cooked, tasty and the plates looked good when they arrived.

The dinning area and toilets were immaculate.

We had a very nice family meal here and would recommend to locals and visitors alike. If we ever find ourselves in that neck of the wood again we'll be going back for sure.

Thank Kdlovescake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
What great comments, thank you. Epitomises all we are striving to achieve.
Warm welcome, family friendly, great food and service.
Happy smiley faces all round.
Hope you make it back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

I only live up the road from Scotts but hadn't been because it just looks like a motorway service station (which it is next to). However they advertise gluten free fish and chips which are still a bit of a rarity so we went on a whim last night. Not only did they have gluten free batter, but there was bread, vinegar and tartare sauce. I didn't enquire about curry sauce - will do so next time. When it came the portion was enormous, the batter light and crispy and the fish fresh and moist. I really enjoyed it. Somehow I managed to ram in pudding - what was clearly a home made pavlova (gluten free - the waiter advised without prompting of their selection). My other half had the chocolate fudge cake - he didn't need the gluten free aspect but apparently it was, good knowledge for next time as it looked amazing.

Service was good, it was quiet inside (wet Thursday night in early September, not surprising). We'll be going again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amyuk2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi Amy,
Delighted that you tried us, especially as you are local.
One of our challenges is to get over the external appearance and location.
As you now know, once inside, you could be anywhere.
The gluten free is increasingly popular and we have proper battered fish n chips available all day everyday at both restaurants and takeaways.
With some additional GF items.
Thanks again and see you soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing