We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we stopped here”

Scotts Fish and Chips
Ranked #113 of 990 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Stopped here on our way back from holidaying the last week of August. We were travelling with two young children and having car problems so in a terrible mood.

We sat down and were made very welcome which instantly lifted our moods. The staff were very attentive the food was excellent.

The external decor gave me doubt about going in but the internal decor is totally different and very relaxing, I really liked the magazines on offer for customers to read while waiting for food.

I'd highly recommend visiting Scotts and if we are ever in the area again we definitely will.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 1Bubbles32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
We also so glad you stopped and agree the external image of the building isn't great, but once inside, you could be anywhere.
But the main event is the food and above all the service.
We are very family friendly, with lots of seats to cater for everyone.
Hope you call again, next time your passing.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 436 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2015

we have passed by many times but never stopped, but today we decided to give them a try and we were very pleased we did.
The food and the service was excellent and we will certainly call again.
Thanks to all involved!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Janseabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Hello and thank you for the review,
We were very pleased you decided to stop off and call in. There are many who continue to drive past and they're all missing out, as you now know !!
Quality, value and service are our three core values.
Hope to see you back very soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We had our wedding breakfast at Scotts. The staff were excellent, attending to our guests every need.
The food was brilliant and the tables were dressed with tablecloths, flowers etc.
There attention to detail made our wedding day so special.
Thank you guys

1  Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Hi Vicky,
Thanks for the review and delighted we helped in a small way to your big day.
Customers are our number one priority and we try very hard to deliver the highest service every time.
Thanks again
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We have visited here before and it didn't disappoint, although we would not have gone but for the 'buy one get one free' as I think the prices are a little high.
We were served by Lauren on Saturday tea time and she was absolutely great, what attentiveness! She was also extremely pleasant and obliging. The Chef, Roxy was very good also in that she came and asked if our meals were satisfactory; just a little touch to make us feel a bit more than just a customer. Many thanks

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi Sylvia,
Thanks for the review and delighted you enjoyed your visit.
We do continually assess pricing and aim to be middle of the road.
We do have options at different price points and fish weights, some specials, golden years...etc and aim to have something for all appetites and budgets.
And of course a takeaway at lower prices.
You may have seen in the press that Roxy recently made the semi final, Top 10, in the National Young Frier competition.
Well done Lauren and Roxy.
Hope you come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Our waitress Lauren served our meals with confidence and a smile.The food was excellent and was served piping hot.We would certainly eat at Scotts again, Thanks Lauren. M&J of Sheffield.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi M & J,
Thanks for the review and great comments.
All food cooked fish to order and served with big smiles.
Well done Lauren.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing