We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected GEM”

Scotts Fish and Chips
Ranked #99 of 965 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We pulled off the main road to use the services even though I'm not a fan of most services and spotted this Fish & Chip restaurant at the far side. Having almost used the fast food franchise on the same site I'm glad we spotted this business and avoided the McD!
We nearly used the takeaway side as that's the door we entered through, but the friendly staff pointed out that the restaurant side was available too. Having been shown to a great table in the clean well presented restaurant we enjoyed a selection of fish items from the menu along with copious Yorkshire tea. We left thoroughly satisfied, and very happy with the value for money too. Definitely one to get back to .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Duggy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hi Duggy,
Shame you're in Nottingham, as I think you could become a regular?
Thanks for the great comments.
Quality food, at value for money prices, served with big smiles and friendly faces. That's our aim.
Hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 368 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

This place does lovely fish and chips, and even has plenty of gluten free options. A delicious range of starters and a great choice of cold desserts that hardly ever get eaten because the portions are so good!

There's a good size car park and the restaurant area is nicely laid out - plenty of space. The batter is just right and the chips are better than most pubs can do - not at all greasy.

The take-away is a good size and the restaurant is large (for a fish and chip place), easy access - turn off the A64 at the Bilbrough Top services. Used to be Tritons, but the little remodel looks great, the staff are nice and friendly and it's £11 for a cod the length of a man's forearm, with tons of chips, salad, peas (or sauce, etc) and buttered bread. I feel hungry again just writing this review! :-)

Thank N0rthY0rks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
Sounds delicious - thank you.
All cooked fresh to order. We buy very large fish and cut to size. This ensures a thick, meaty and flaky fillet with crisp batter.
Chips done fresh and all served with big smiles all round.
Make sure you have our loyalty card, available to all regulars.

Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

excellant food and service, we had gluten free fish and chips from the take away, outstanding! this is the second time we have been for gluten free takeaway, first time cheif was Gabriel and severed by Hannah, two of the most lovely people you would like to meet, this time Gabriel was on his own. i must say the service even out strips the food, i am a coeliac and find it hard to trust anyone else cooking for me as i react to gluten really fast. No worries here though could eat here every week , once again thank you x

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

HI Ann,
Thanks for the review.
Gluten free is an increasingly popular choice and we have dedicated fryers and a GF batter to produce a proper battered GF fish n chips meal. This is available all day everyday in both York and Helmsley.
Spread the word and come back soon.
Well done Gabi and Hannah.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015

We thought we would have a change from McD. so we called on the way back from the coast with 5 children. We waited by the desk to be seated and were given a table in the centre, other customers were asked where they would like to be and chose window tables. We were under constant scrutiny from the desk and felt like goldfish in a bowl, but moving 2 adults and 5 small tired children would have caused chaos.
Although we thought the food was expensive it was delicious, the childrens fish portions were really fresh and crispy. The only child who did not choose fish had chicken nuggets but said they were not nice so we wrapped them up and said we would take them home for the dog. Unfortunately the dog whose favourite food is chicken would not eat them either and on further inspection the nuggets appeared to be made of potato, we still cannot decide if the kitchen got it wrong but we were too late to complain.
Although the staff were friendly we did not feel comfortable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mcpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
I'm sorry to hear you felt uncomfortable at your particular table? Please request to be moved if you're not happy, it will be no problem. We are very customer focused and all staff know we have customer first attitude. Whatever the customer wants,we will try and oblige.
We do have 25 seats ion the takeaway, which has less options, but is at a lower price.
We have looked at the chicken nuggets and on review, agree they are not the best. We have changed suppliers and now have a 100% chicken nugget, which all agree is a much higher quality and better taste.
We hope you call again.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Cosy Fish & Chip shop. Take away or eat in. There is also another larger restaurant area (in addition to the shop) which is licensed. Alcoholic drinks cannot be taken outside as their license doesn't cover that area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 14Doreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hi and thanks for the review,
Great stop off point for coaches. Plenty of on site parking space.
Our takeaway does have 25 seats inside if you want a budget meal or we have a fully licensed restaurant, 110 seats if you want to be waited on.
For parties, we can tailor menus and prices to suit most budgets and are very flexible,
Spread the word and come back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;