We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food! Family enjoyment.”

Scotts Fish and Chips
Ranked #113 of 990 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Absolutely recommend. We love holiday Fish & Chips and therefore have experienced many through the country. Scotts comes out top. Excellent food. I was concerned as I need milk free food for my little boy. Allergies are catered for! Enjoyed a thoroughly fantastic meal. Excellent service and staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mummsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

Hello and thanks for the review,
You love holiday fish and chips - but we love everyday fish and chips!!!!
Shame you're not local, as you could become a regular with a loyalty card?
All allergens are catered for and all staff are aware of the 14 key allergens, with a full product and ingredient allegen file on site for specific queries.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 391 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2015

This restaurant was highly recommended to us for an evening meal. On arrival we were seated immediately but then we waited and waited and waited before finally our order was taken! Our waitress has to have been one of the grumpiest people we've ever had. I know its hard doing this job (being constantly on the go from the moment you start till you finish), but service with a smile goes a long way. Can't complain about the food though it was excellent freshly cooked, piping hot and lots of it! Definitely worth a return visit but maybe at another time during the day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

Hi Catherine and thanks or the review,
I am disappointed to read your comments, as we focus on the customer at all times.
I am constantly reminding staff, "customer first" is a key core value.
Unfortunately you don't mention what day or who the server was. All staff have name badges so customer can identify them.
Delighted you enjoyed the food and hope you try us again.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Ideally situated next to the A64 between York and the A1, a bit tedious actually getting to the place. But plenty of space for parking our large van around the back. It's actually open after 7.30 such a rarity in rural North Yorkshire and they serve great food.
It's clean, friendly and has toilets, a blessing for anyone M62 / M1 / A1m /A64 travelling towards Scarborough.
The fish is freshly cooked, and taste's great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kinggeffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hello and thanks or the review,
We are in an excellent location for anyone travelling A64 / A1 or M62 / M1 and a great alternative to motorway services.
25 seats in takeaway with phone charging points. Full meals or snacks available.
Hope to se you back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

Just eaten here and have to say wow! Dave and the team were fantastic, and the food was amazing. Can easily say the best fish and chips ever, and that's saying something! We ate in the restaurant at 4:30pm and now have this as our favourite fish and chips spot!!! A++++++

Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hello,
Thanks for the great comments.
What can I say, but I agree with you.......
The whole team work hard everyday to deliver the highest, world class food and service.
It's not easy, but we have a good team and its great to get such feedback.
Well done Dave.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We pulled off the main road to use the services even though I'm not a fan of most services and spotted this Fish & Chip restaurant at the far side. Having almost used the fast food franchise on the same site I'm glad we spotted this business and avoided the McD!
We nearly used the takeaway side as that's the door we entered through, but the friendly staff pointed out that the restaurant side was available too. Having been shown to a great table in the clean well presented restaurant we enjoyed a selection of fish items from the menu along with copious Yorkshire tea. We left thoroughly satisfied, and very happy with the value for money too. Definitely one to get back to .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Duggy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hi Duggy,
Shame you're in Nottingham, as I think you could become a regular?
Thanks for the great comments.
Quality food, at value for money prices, served with big smiles and friendly faces. That's our aim.
Hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing