We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Scotts Fish and Chips
Ranked #111 of 1,007 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Me and the wife called here for fish and chips in the restaurant after been to our caravan at york it was was about 20.05 and they close at 20.30 my wife asked if it was still ok to get served they said no problem the guy who served us was called josh he was very helpful asked if everything was ok could not do enough for us very nice clean place the fish was to die for

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Michael,
Thank you for your positive review! Glad you had a great time with us, and hope you return?!
Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018

Feeling hungry we decided to stop off on our journey home. We usually get a McDonalds but decided to try scotts next door. It was bright, clean and very spacious. We ordered steak pie, sweet potato fries and peas. We were amazed at the large portion size and the steak pie was fantastic! We hadn't had a steak pie as nice as that in years. The staff were accommodating and friendly especially Josh who served us.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mrstaylor62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello,
Great comments, really appreciate it! Our steak pie is very popular!! Homemade and very tasty!
We offer lots of different dishes, alongside our fish n chips!
Hope you return!
Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Lovely gluten free fish and chips. Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff; clean; quick service and freshly cooked. Convenient stop off, just off the A64 before York.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank johY4102CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jo,
Thanks for your lovely comments, we have gluten free available all day, every day. We are Coeliac UK accredited which we are very proud of!
Sea you again? Spread the GF word?!
Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped off on the way home after spending the day in York and were the last people in at 8pm. The staff were really friendly and helpful despite obviously having had a long day. The food was piping hot and freshly cooked. Fish, chips, mushy peas, bread & butter and a pot of tea £10.95. Couldn't fault it and will definitely call again next time we're passing.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Susan, appreciate your wonderful review! All food freshly prepared to ensure quality! Our team are hard workers, to give you the best experience!
We have a digital loyalty card, Swipii, if you often visit us? You'd get exclusive offers!
Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

The meal was excellent ,we had the Golden oldies and there was more than enough and a great choice to pick from .
The service was first class and all the young staff were very friendly.
The restaurant was very clean and bright also the toilet's

We will definitely be going back and would recommend it to everyone.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Speedymouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,
Fab comments, thank you. It's a great offer isn't it?! Glad you enjoyed.
Our team work hard to provide quality sevice!
We have a digital loyalty card, Swipii, which might be of interest to you?
Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing