We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for all main attractions”
Review of York House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
York House
Ranked #69 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This was the best b&b we have stayed in the atmosphere was relaxed breakfast was good and plenty of choice the owners Kath and Dave made us feel at home and let us use the the facilities in the kithen to warm up our take away supper. the location was only a short walk away from York and Kath and Dave gave us advice on the places we could visit. The rooms are all on suite & a really good size, if you are planning a trip to York look no further than this b&b ...Liz and both Sheilas

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

Only stay at York House if you want:

Great location - 10 mins from centre of York on foot.
A warm welcome
Well appointed rooms
Excellent breakfast
Helpful tourist advice
Good value for money
The urge to return!

Thanks to David and Kath for a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Doing a combination of TV's "Three in a Bed" and "Hotel Inspector" it passed all tests with flying colours.
Using Google Street View, the buildings light blue exterior finish was easy to find. I walked slowly from the railway station with small suitcase on wheels taking in the views as one passes The Minster's front. The pavement stones are uneven in the centre of the town. Although it took 30 minutes, there were a number of No.9 buses that passed in that direction.

For an evening meal, there is an excellent pub, turn right out the front door, walk 100 metres to the mini roundabout, turn right and 100 metres along on the right. Wednesday night an excellent carvery at £5.95 and Real Ales are available.The beef was excellent.

The quality of the York House welcoming was friendly and very professional. I was met outside and after filling in a simple registration form the dining room was shown. The Hotel's website photos are accurate. I was showed to my room (room no.7) up 16 steps.
The quality of attention to detail in the room and bathroom was beyond belief. I have not been so impressed with Hotels and B&B's in the UK for decades. The bathroom has a strong matching pine chair and new vinyl sheeting in the curved doors shower access overcomes the usual poor quality shower grouting. The shower tray grouting, and grouting around the effective power shower, and shower head were perfect. Hygiene within the bathroom could not be faulted. In the bedroom, there are nine 13Amp mains sockets; ideal for simultaneous charging of mobile phone, camera and laptop. Secure wifi is available with a slip describing the password available from Katherine or David.
Although the room faces the front which is a busy road, the double glazing and additional secondary glazing makes it impossible to hear any traffic.
High quality Kenco and Nescafe Gold Blend Decaf coffee and PG tips tea are available.There are no "catering quality" brand X tea bags of coffee. Even the bathroom toiletries are quality products. The perfect soft white towels do not smell of beach - really outstanding
The room has an excellent light coloured and tasteful light green combination painting finish towards the ceiling and has that type of white sheen wallpaper that the almost invisible patterns shown, that was stuck to the wall perfectly. The large room has matching antique pine furniture. Again the Hotel's photos are accurate. A medium sized flat screen freeview TV is fitted at a high level on the wall, above a large dressing table with an individual make-up light. The room is brightly lit with two sets of three lamps. The attention to detail of the bed linen is beyond description. Perfect ironing and cleanliness. Also no dust under the bed or behind cupboards!
At Breakfast - White linen table cloths WITH dark brown runners are on each table.
This surely merits an additional Star ?
High quality Robertson jams are available. Even Marmite !. No rubbishy cheap products.
The English Breakfast features locally produced butchers sausages and the fried eggs were superbly cooked that the outer part of the yoke had settled and the inner part liquid. No dirty black marks under the egg - perfect. Bacon was back and unsmoked and not overcooked. Fresh coffee was produced as this seemed to always be "made to order". This overcomes that dreadful burnt taste that seems to be made of burn acorns! The coffee tasted very good.

Summery - A real treat and a Superb Experience. Thoroughly recommended !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MIRADOR174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights for my husbands birthday. Lovely room, we stayed in room 9, could do with decor updating but was fine for us and good value for money. Breakfast was the best part of our stay, absolutely superb.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanette74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Everyone hi,
Top B&B, the owners are very helpful and kind, I don't regret my choice.
The bedrooms are well decorated and there is everyting you need at your disposal.
The breakfast is very good and rich, with lot of choice.
I highly recommend this B&B, which is not far at all from the city center (2 bus stop from pub Black Swan).
The car park is quite small but you can park in the street for free.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VANTONUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We booked this for my husbands birthday and it was really lovely. On our arrival we found the owner cheerful and helpful offering us lots of advice on our trip. The fourposter room was delightful and we eat a sumptous breakfast in the bright conservatory. Really appreciated the tea and coffe when we returned from our days out or that early morning cuppa! Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This B & B was well situated, approx 10 mins walk from york but there is a bus stop right outside if you want to save your legs!! The owners made us feel very welcome, the rooms were nice and clean, breakfast was excellent, beds very comfy, I would definetly recommend York House to anyone and will be returning again!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkDebbie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.5 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#54 of 194 in York
204 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#18 of 194 in York
579 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#15 of 194 in York
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Feversham Lodge Guest House
1.7 mi away
Holmwood House
Holmwood House
#71 of 194 in York
332 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#17 of 194 in York
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Address: 62 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £56 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing