We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice couple”
Review of York House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
York House
Ranked #70 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2013

just had the weekend at this b&b in the superior room which had a waterbed in it.Was a bit nervous about sleeping in it but it was really comfortable!!.The guest house is lovely with breakfast served in the conservatory and the breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of meals you can choose from.We went for our wedding anniversary and i emailed to see if i could have some champagne in the room for when we arrived and it was which was a lovely touch by the owners nothing seemed to be too much trouble.Would definitely recommend this place to people and would stay again,thankyou for a lovely weekend

Room Tip: you have to stay in the superior room with the water bed.its a giggle when you first lay on it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannec71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for your very generous review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at York House and had a giggle on the water bed. They are amazingly comfortable - we have had one for 20 years! Our guests' comfort is a priority and we do try our best to make everyone feel welcome. to enable them to have a relaxing stay and go home refreshed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed for 2 nights B & B. Room was large and comfortable. We ate breakfast in a very nice setting, it was cooked fresh and was delicious. Our hosts were friendly and very helpful. A ten minute walk from the centre of York, the guest house is well located. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for your very kind review and marvellous scoring. We are pleased you liked the room and your breakfast. We would be extremely happy to accommodate you again should you visit York in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This place is a brilliant find in York and at a really good price too.As everyone has said nothing is too much trouble.The bedrooms are spotless ,the bed linen is good quality ,fluffy white towels,lovely toiletries,hair dryer,velvet bathrobes,loads of complimentary drinks in your room too.Crackin shower!Breakfasts are good with a choice of cereals,juices,hot drinks and cooked breakfasts too.Maybe a little slow because they are all cooked to orderYou really can,t ask for anymore.Thankyou .We had a lovely stay

Room Tip: We had room 4 at the back ,very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5,151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for your kind and considerate review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at York House and hope that you will recommend us to others seeking accommodation in York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Beautiful, spacious rooms, good water pressure and nice roomy bathroom, spotlessly clean, great selection of teas/coffees etc. As previous reviewers have stated, parking is difficult and very tight, well located, a 10 minute walk into the city of York. Would certainly recommend and excellent value for money. Beautiful breakfast room and extensive offerings, nothjing seemed to be a bother, staff smikling and helpful.

Room Tip: I dont think you can go wrong here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Thank you for your very kind and generous review, I’m glad you liked your room. As you say the free onsite parking can be a little tight and we have to make the best of what space is available, but there is always free on street parking both with and without permit, both areas are located less than one minutes’ walk from the guest house. However, we are always pleased to assist people with parking their car and this minor problem is always overcome. Both we, the owners and the staff do try to meet all our guests’ needs and to make their stay at York House as pleasant and comfortable as possible from arrival to departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

...and don't plan to go out by car again! This absolutely is the ONLY negative about York House. Yes, it is free parking, but very difficult to park your own car, if they have a full house! David is more than happy to assist. He actually is quite a magician!
The staff is accomodating and gracious in every way. The rooms are spacious and clean! The showers are new and roomy. It only is a 10 minute walk to the center of old town York and the Minster. The generous breakfast is served in the bright and sunny conservatory. It is located on a major street, but quiets down at night. We stayed here 2 nights in room #5 (I think) We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33146Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Thank you for your very honest review. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality at York House and I shall pass your kind remarks onto the staff, it is much appreciated.

Room 5 is a pleasant room despite being at the front of the house, all rooms have extremely efficient secondary glazing which helps block out any noise almost completely, though as you say everything quietens down in the early evening.

It can be a squeeze in car park when every guestroom has a vehicle, though we do also have free on street parking with a permit which is only a minute’s walk from the guest house and also free on street parking without permit that is a couple of minutes’ walk from the guest house. Like most cities around Britain parking is really an issue so we have to make the best of the space that is available, ideally without incurring any extra costs which then inevitably have to be passed on to the guest. There is no problem if guests want to take their car out for the day as we are always happy to assist with parking whether returning from a day trip or arriving or departing – though Dave is, as you point out, an excellent car parking valet. Of course, the city of York do try and encourage visitors to and citizens alike to use public transport, wherever possible and we at York House are fortunate to have a shuttle bus service stop right outside the front door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were made to feel at home straight away by our lovely hosts. On finding out that we were both classic car nuts, David was good enough to let us have a sit in his fabulous Citroen DS!! The room was very spacious and clean and had a fabulous shower. The Tea/Coffee selection in the room was extensive. Everything was how it should be, fantastic cooked breakfast (sausages are wonderful!!) and even though the room was at the front of the property the secondary glazing cut out ALL road noise. We timed the walk into town and at an ambling pace it took exactly 10 minutes. Love York and York House, we will return I'm sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. We're glad you liked the car as well as your stay with us at York House. I think the secondary glazing is one of the better purchases we have made - it's excellent. I am pleased you took 10 minutes to get to the town, of course there are often many variables to extend it by a minute or two, such as waiting for traffic and the different pace at which people walk.
Pleased you enjoyed the sausages, this is the second compliment for our butcher this week!
We hope you will stay with us again should you decide to visit York in the future - Dave will be only too pleased to talk classic cars!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

A great b+b lovely friendly staff great location only 10 min walk into centre of york. Free parking, lovely room with four poster bed and great bathroom. The breakfast was great and service excellent would recommend astay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your generous review. We are glad you enjoyed your 30th wedding anniversary at York House and what better feedback than you recommending a stay at York House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#19 of 194 in York
591 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#23 of 194 in York
342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brentwood Guest House
Brentwood Guest House
#51 of 194 in York
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#9 of 194 in York
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot House
Ascot House
#14 of 194 in York
460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Address: 62 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £54 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — York House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing