We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value with excellent standards” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrand House

Harrand House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harrand House
Ranked #169 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value with excellent standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed in a room within a house just round the corner from the main hotel. The house was spotless, had all amenities and was only a 2 minute walk to the town centre. It was a very quiet road which was perfect after the hectic days we had there. I'd recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcsykesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

If you are looking for a friendly hotel that is on the edge of the Minster area, so quite but close with all the necessary amenities then this place is for you. Harrand House is detached from the main hotel in a residential street and has been very recently refurbished with all new everything.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Castle1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We fell across Harrand House after originally enquiring about the sister hotel just round the corner in which we also had a lovely breakfast sitting in the front window watching the world go by with a selection of bird feeders in the trees opposite which kept the view even more interesting! Our room was in Harrand House itself and it was like being in someones cosy home in a lovely quiet street. Just the break we needed to brush the cobwebs away. We love York and we will most certaintly be returning to this Hotel! We were only there for a short visit so next time we will also enjoy the Spa and Pool too!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I like this p[lace, close enough to walk to city centre, far enough away to be peaceful! Recently refurbished town house with comfortable and clean furnishings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RevDarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

I stayed here with friends while taking a class through my University. It was a great place to stay especially because we had a kitchen to use and a living room to hang out in. It really made me feel at home. Being able to use the kitchen also kept the cost of food down for us poor college kids!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank under120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Every day starts with an excellent full English breakfast (best I've ever had), served by a friendly staff in a cozy and inviting dining area. Our suite was lovely, had a great view and a nice full kitchen, very comfortable beds and room to spread out. It's in a good location between the walled city and the train station. Would love to go back soon!

Room Tip: St. Olave's: great layout and big kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rschwietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

This place was perfect for our group. It was really nice to have the kitchen facilities on the main floor. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie43501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Harrand House, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#18 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen Annes Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#62 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#29 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrand House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrand House

Property: Harrand House
Address: 20 North Parade, York YO30 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly refurbished property is available to rent as a whole or rooms can be rented by the night. 5 minutes walk from Hedley House Hotel where breakfast and meals maybe be purchased it is a great place from which to work or visit York and the surrounding area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing