We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, awesome town!”
Review of Safestay York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Safestay York
Ranked #13 of 56 Speciality Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed at this hostel for two days in July, 2013. It was utterly amazing! The architecture of this hostel is breathtaking, even though I wasn't looking for anything special. I'm a backpacker and I'll sleep almost anywhere and this place was beautiful. There is a kitchen, a gameroom and a big lounge with the most excellent furniture ever invented: Chesterfield couches and chairs. I love Chesterfield. Google it and see the pictures of this furniture. I felt like a million bucks.

The staff is the most helpful crew I have ever encountered on my many travels. Friendly and serviceminded to the fingertips. The hostel is located a few steps from the railstation AND very close to the city wall. So when you have decided to walk the wall (yeah, when you are in York, you must walk the wall... it goes around the city, c'mon!), you can just step outside of the hostel and BAM! there it is.

The city is a historical playground, (I'm a norwegian archeologist, Vikings and stuff), and the houses have the cute charming feature... well, remember the town from Disney's "Beauty and the Beast"? That's York. Bell is missing out, she can keep her prince. Join one the many walking tours. I hanged with a free tour guide and payed him afterwards but only if I wanted to. Nice one.

Peace and love from Norway and you're welcome, York. Or should I say Jorvik?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieFromTheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our party of 19 were really pleased with our stay at the hostel, we were all
pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendliness of
the staff, plus it's a great central location. We would definitely come again!
Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlelizzy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The old house is very cool, and the plaques outside the dorms and rooms let you know what it used to be back in the day, some with a bit of a gossipy story! Breakfast was nice, rooms were spacious, bathrooms in the rooms don't have very good ventilation, so everything is steamy and wet if you're not the first shower, but the showers were hot.
Was popular for hens and stag/bucks nights (I stayed on a Friday and Saturday night) so was a little noisy, but I guess mid week would be quieter. Very nice and would recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

No need for the sauna in the basement, rooms where a hoora hot,no bar!need a wider selection of breakfast items a cooked breakfast would have been great and some proper tea! Good location close to everything !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordiebird82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Ace Hostel calls itself a 'boutique' hostel but I wouldn't list it as such. Having stayed on a top floor room of eight beds (Room 20), I couldn't sleep at all due to the heat in the room. Underwear and no sheets still left me sweating. That, plus the bathrooms were grim and horrible. It does have a sauna in the basement but your room will do the same job.

Fort Boutique on the other side of town also uses the 'boutique' tag and is much better.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor - think those would probably be the hottest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Its been a good 10 years since i have stayed in a hostel, but this was very impressive. The lady on reception who checked us in was very friendly. The location was great - everything walking distance (but York a very small city!) Our 4 bed dorm in the basement did resemble a prison cell but it was clean and basic reflected in the price, we were only staying one night so it was perfect - am sure there are lighter rooms on the above floors. Overall would definately recommend if you want a cheap, clean and basic room, The lounge area and bar were also great, all in all very impressed

Room Tip: don;t stay in basement if you want natural light, its quite dark down there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoneR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have been in a few historical hostels in the North of England. The lobby, common areas and stairs of this look as impressive. However I recommend to take rooms facing the street and not the back, which are above a nightclub with loud music until 3-4 in the night. We booked a room for 2 on top and although the character and cozyness were undoubtful, we thought it was overpriced at 84 pounds considering disurbance and the average quality of services (small bathroom, minimal breakfast). I suggest the management should be more honest about the noise problem and charge less the rooms facing the back.

Room Tip: Definitely rooms not facing the back / disco area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnuk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.9 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,140 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay York

Address: 88-90 Micklegate | Micklegate House, York YO1 6JX, England (Formerly Ace York - Boutique Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range: £17 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Safestay York 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safestay York is set in a beautiful Georgian townhouse less than 10 minutes’ walk from York train station and even closer to the historic city centre. You’ll love the affordable accommodation and stylish social spaces, 24 hour reception and free Wi-Fi throughout. With twin, double and family en-suite rooms as well as en-suite and standard dormitories for 4 to 12 people there’s a bed for every budget. All bed linen is included and private rooms boast flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, and towels too. In dormitories Safestay’s own brand of bunk beds are fitted with a personal night-light and surrounded by privacy curtains, allowing for a comfortable night's sleep. There’s a locker for each bed too, making it easy to store your luggage and valuables. The four social spaces include a breakfast room, serving continental breakfast every day, a fully licensed bar, games room and heated courtyard. The hostel also has a laundry, bike racks and a luggage store for guests to use at their pleasure. The blend of the surreal and the traditional reflects the fairy tale feel of York, giving the hostel an individual charm of its own; whilst staying true to Safestay’s award winning design. Great for groups and individuals Safestay is York’s first choice hostel for the savvy traveller. Stay at Safestay York and you’ll be within easy walking distance of The York Minster, Clifford’s Tower, Jorvik Viking Centre, The Shambles, National Railway Museum, The York Dungeons and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Safestay York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace York - Boutique Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing