We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Safestay York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Safestay York
Ranked #8 of 50 Speciality Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I recently had a "hen weekend" in this hostel and was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and quality of the rooms. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them. I am the wrong side of 40 but the hen and her friends are all 20 and 30 somethings so I was expecting cheap and cheerful. I was impressed and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    252
    103
    48
    41
See reviews for
58
53
285
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morzine
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Trying to organise 21 hens over a weekend was similar to herding cats, however Brian and his team were extremely patient and helpful from the initial enquiry until our departure. They let our group have sole use of the games room while we played our hen do games and let us use their DVD player. The drinks were SO cheap! £1 per bottle but I think we were just lucky as they were getting rid of some stock. Rooms were clean, bright and airy with high ceilings and huge sash windows- we hired the 14 bed and 10 bed dorms and had a great night. Great value accommodation in the heart of York, we'll be back!Kellie

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reach4thealps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights in a 4 bed dorm. The staff are very friendly and helpful. At one point we were in the lounge (which has really comfortable couches) and a girl lost money in the vending machine, and instead of just putting an out of order sign on it, they immediately got someone to come open the machine and fix it. We got good sleep because we had a basement room and quiet. Although sometimes you could smell cigarettes because the door to outside was across from us. And we had to empty the dehumidifier at least twice a day because the air was so damp down there. The beds were comfortable but squeaked quite a bit. The bathroom was an add on and very basic, which was fine, but there was no soap dispenser. The location is great because it's close to the train station and not a long walk to such attractions as the Shambles and the Minster. Take advantage of breakfast because they include really yummy croissants (which we didn't get anywhere else we stayed on our trip).

Room Tip: If you have sensitive breathing (asthma etc.), avoid the basement because it is very damp down there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Great historical building!!! Really added to whole York experience!! The conversion of the building into a hostel is done really well! The common room is amazing too! Great couches!!!
The rooms were really spacious!! Lots of room for bags!! Only the showers were a let down... they were really really cold!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked the family room as we wanted to stay an extra night in York, having already stayed at the Travelodge on Micklegate. The location was great and the room spacious, although the ensuite was the size of a portaloo. Everything was ok until the music from the nightclub next door began blaring at 11 and went on until after 3ish in the morning. The room was sold as a family room but what family could put up with that I don't know, as mine certainly couldn't. As we checked out in the morning we complained, only to be told this is what we should have expected for a city centre location and that the hostel discouraged under 18s from staying at the weekend. We were told this by a very hostile manager who said he wouldn't do anything to compensate us as we were likely to write something bad about the place on the Internet and that we wouldn't be back or recommending it either. They should not sell this as a family room and I wouldn't recommend any families stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raytrefriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Not having a big selections of hostels in York, you definitely should pick York's Ace. Built in an old mansion-styled house, this place just creeps you out with all the sign plates in passages, that tell the stories of young girls, who ended it all in this place ages ago. Strange thing they made a hostel here, not a 5-star hotel, but once you are in York, do not lose your chance to have a chilly night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verbludozis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed Saturday for 1 night, booked it as somewhere to get my head down after a night out with my friends, having stayed in quite a few hostels this is certainly one of the better ones. The receptionist who checked us in was a great laugh, the rooms were clean & spacious and for the price we paid it was very reasonable, I would recommend staying to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.1 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay York

Property: Safestay York
Address: 88-90 Micklegate | Micklegate House, York YO1 6JX, England (Formerly Ace York - Boutique Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Safestay York 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safestay York is set in a beautiful Georgian townhouse less than 10 minutes’ walk from York train station and even closer to the historic city centre. You’ll love the affordable accommodation and stylish social spaces, 24 hour reception and free Wi-Fi throughout. With twin, double and family en-suite rooms as well as en-suite and standard dormitories for 4 to 12 people there’s a bed for every budget. All bed linen is included and private rooms boast flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, and towels too. In dormitories Safestay’s own brand of bunk beds are fitted with a personal night-light and surrounded by privacy curtains, allowing for a comfortable night's sleep. There’s a locker for each bed too, making it easy to store your luggage and valuables. The four social spaces include a breakfast room, serving continental breakfast every day, a fully licensed bar, games room and heated courtyard. The hostel also has a laundry, bike racks and a luggage store for guests to use at their pleasure. The blend of the surreal and the traditional reflects the fairy tale feel of York, giving the hostel an individual charm of its own; whilst staying true to Safestay’s award winning design. Great for groups and individuals Safestay is York’s first choice hostel for the savvy traveller. Stay at Safestay York and you’ll be within easy walking distance of The York Minster, Clifford’s Tower, Jorvik Viking Centre, The Shambles, National Railway Museum, The York Dungeons and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Safestay York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace York - Boutique Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing