We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would try find an alternative next time...”
Review of Safestay York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Safestay York
Ranked #8 of 50 Speciality Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would try find an alternative next time...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Where to start? Maybe the positives - beautiful old building, awesome location, staff are generally nice and try to be helpful, dorms spacious and beds comfortable, and extra toilets in addition to dorm ensuite.

But that's where it ends... We got there and were told that they made a mistake and we would have to change rooms after the first night (inconvenant to say the least). Ensuite tiny and not well ventilated. Extra toilet on our floor was out of order. WiFi only worked downstairs infront of reception desk and in the breakfast lounge (blocked off during day). No self catering kitchen. No tea or coffee if in a dorm (only for privates). Cages under beds in dorms to serve as lockers were tiny and half of them were broken anyway. And two more big things...

No laundry facility. When we asked to find one close by, staff didn't know and didn't bother to check. After asking a third time to a different staff member he told us one.. it was a dry cleaners. And another staff member told us one on a street to the north - it didn't exist and apparently never has. So they got rid of laundry facilities for guests (they implied 'not anymore') but found no alternative for guests. We went on a wild goose chase with our washing and ended up finding a place 1.5hrs later after asking locals.. the hostel was no help.

Also, and I see others have mentioned this too.. we had a school group when we were thetr and it was horrible!!!! Woken up at 7am, their teachers not trying to quiet their students and the Ace staff did nothing. And we got kicked out by the kids at breakfast by the teachers and had to eat in the front room. We told the staff and they said that they would talk to the teachers.. we left that morning so I hope that the kids were better after that. It could have been better controlled by the staff and we should have been given a warning (lots of kids and not a big hostel)...

I definitely left with a sour taste in my mouth.. but it is a good place for a place to sleep in York. The city at least makes up for the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    252
    103
    48
    41
See reviews for
58
53
285
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed for a night. The hostel is beautiful. Apart from that, the 10 beds dorm was spacious. Ensuite toilet is very small and has very bad ventilation. Cleanliness can be improved. Breakfast buffet offered has a large variety, not too bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markgoh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of kids on a residential visit. The place is like a circus.
On arrival we were given the wrong rooms, the finer details of the booking that had been confirmed the week before had been either ignored or forgotten about (ie allergies, diet requirements, meal times). Management argued with staff in front of guests, they also complained about the noise children made whilst moving through the hostel: the owner had a headache and the noise wasn't helping. This is a hostel... surely they have large groups in (and with that comes noise).
This hell hole could be better ran by monkeys. The management did not understand any of of issues and said we were looking for faults. This is far from the truth: we did everything we could to cover the cracks in order for our children to have a smooth and trouble free stay and ensure that they were unaware of everything going wrong around them. One morning there was no bread for toast; we popped down to the sainsburys down the road and bought some.
The communication between staff, the complete lack of understanding, and attitude shown by management for the issues that this place has is what makes this place what it is. An unfriendly and disorganised hell hole.
The place is most certainly not suitable for school groups or groups of young people.
3 days we spent here. Staff refuse to take responsibility and are rude, there is no clear leader; issues are brushed under the carpet and if this is an example of a customer service industry then we want no part of it.
Advice: stay well clear.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed with a course group while visiting York for the day. All of the guys were put into the basement with the positive that we had an en-suite bathroom. The Ace York is located in an old building and as such has a number of common areas that are great to spread out in. But, beyond location there wasn't much to recommend this beyond meeting a minimum standard.

The wifi was pretty temperamental (albeit free) and after a certain point I just gave up trying to check in with family. You did have to make your beds, no surprise there, but the bathroom shower left a little to be desired as the lack of large enough shower-curtain meant water would get sprayed somewhere in the bathroom. There also wasn't a good area to leave your clothes so it was difficult not to shower without getting your things wet. The breakfast was also fairly nondescript with boxes of fruit and croissants being the only offerings in addition to OJ and Tea/Coffee. I can't speak to the noise issues as we were in the basement and didn't have a problem.

Overall I felt safe there but just underwhelmed. It was functional and, for the location, is not anything bad, but I certainly have stayed in far nicer hostels.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RobC614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A group of eight of us stayed here for two nights and had a grand time! We filled an eight bed dorm ourselves which had its own ensuite shower and toilet. Fresh linen was provided and the beds were quite comfy. We were at the front of the hostel so had no issues with noise from bars/clubs only a bit of road noise.

Only one small issue was the amount of showers that were available outside of the dorm. We had to wait to use the communal showers as there was not that many of them. But thats not a huge issue. Lovely building and facilities with a kitchen, dinning room, lounge and games room. Overall we had a good time and would recommend the hostel to anyone looking for a quick break in York.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Ace York is located right in the heart of the picturesque city of York in England. It is just a 5 minute walk from the York railway station, very near to the Micklegate. It is a magnificent Georgian building with both dorms and privates. Breakfast is included in the charges and is of a very good quality. All major attractions like the York Minster, the Shambles, the National Railway Museum, Cliffords Tower etc. are within a walkable distance. Some good restaurants and takeaways are around. It is a 4-star rated accommodation and has wifi facility, separate computers for internet browsing, a snacks vending machine, a Kitchen, a gaming lounge in the basement and a TV room.

Room Tip: Try using Booking.com. There you may not be asked to pay an advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabishumaransari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We went to York for a hen weekend and decided on Ace as it looked nice and was very reasonably priced. It's location is perfect for exploring the city and for those who want to go out at night. If you're on the back of the hotel you can hear a nearby club/bar so take earplugs if you want a good nights rest, however this didn't effect us. Breakfast was standard but nice as you don't often get supplied with breakfast in most hostels. Bathrooms get cleaned daily, and the whole hostel seems very clean. You have to bring your own towels which is a downside but you can always rent them out. Plenty of communal spaces to chill out in. We were on the first floor and could still access the wifi, even though they say it will only reach the communal areas. The staff we BRILLIANT, very friendly, and very accommodating. On the friday night they reserved the games room in the basement for us for a few hours and had a naked butler and ordered a take away, they are laid back as long as you don't take the liberty. Will most likely return whenever I come back to York for a weekend as it's such a wonderful place, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front might be quieter, if in doubt take some earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc232463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.1 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay York

Property: Safestay York
Address: 88-90 Micklegate | Micklegate House, York YO1 6JX, England (Formerly Ace York - Boutique Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Speciality Lodging in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Safestay York 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safestay York is set in a beautiful Georgian townhouse less than 10 minutes’ walk from York train station and even closer to the historic city centre. You’ll love the affordable accommodation and stylish social spaces, 24 hour reception and free Wi-Fi throughout. With twin, double and family en-suite rooms as well as en-suite and standard dormitories for 4 to 12 people there’s a bed for every budget. All bed linen is included and private rooms boast flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, and towels too. In dormitories Safestay’s own brand of bunk beds are fitted with a personal night-light and surrounded by privacy curtains, allowing for a comfortable night's sleep. There’s a locker for each bed too, making it easy to store your luggage and valuables. The four social spaces include a breakfast room, serving continental breakfast every day, a fully licensed bar, games room and heated courtyard. The hostel also has a laundry, bike racks and a luggage store for guests to use at their pleasure. The blend of the surreal and the traditional reflects the fairy tale feel of York, giving the hostel an individual charm of its own; whilst staying true to Safestay’s award winning design. Great for groups and individuals Safestay is York’s first choice hostel for the savvy traveller. Stay at Safestay York and you’ll be within easy walking distance of The York Minster, Clifford’s Tower, Jorvik Viking Centre, The Shambles, National Railway Museum, The York Dungeons and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Safestay York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace York - Boutique Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing